Eurosport Events, the promoter of the FIA European Rally Championship, has announced a series of new developments ahead of the 2014 season, which are set to be confirmed by the World Motor Sport Council next month.

The Teams' Championship will be replaced next season as a direct response to interest from manufacturers, with a Manufacturers' Cup instead running on all twelve events on the calendar - with the two highest placed cars from each marque being eligible to score.

A new Junior Championship for drivers under 25 using R2-spec machinery will also be introduced, with the winning driver getting use of an R5-spec car on selected events the following year.

Related Articles

The events in Latvia, Ireland, Portugal, Belgium the Czech Republic, Switzerland and France will all count towards the new championship title.

In an effort to cut costs, the number of tyres per event will be limited to 20 while those cars in the 2WD Championship will be limited to 16 tyres. Pump fuel from a single supplier will also become standard, while organisers of SATA Rallye A?ores and the Cyprus Rally will provide significant travel subsidies to ERC competitors planning to contest those events.

A qualifying stage, as seen in the WRC this season, will also take place on each ERC event with the quickest driver through the test being able to chose their place in the starting order for the opening leg of every event on the schedule.