Dani Sordo to sign with Hyundai WRC programme?

Dani Sordo is expected to complete Hyundai's driving strength for 2014 thanks to a Twitter slip in Spain.
Dani Sordo could be poised to complete the line-up for Hyundai's return to the World Rally Championship in 2014, following an inadvertent slip-up by one of the marque's distributors.

Although Hyundai Motorsport has yet to confirm anything officially, Hyundai Spain's Twitter feed briefly claimed that Sordo would 'run with Hyundai on the Monte Carlo Rally and other rounds of the world championship'.

The faux pas suggests that the Spaniard would be the team's tarmac specialist alongside the already confirmed Thierry Neuville and Juho Hanninen. Neuville is slated for a full campaign in the new i20 WRC, while Hanninen has a partial programme, expected to focus on loose surfaces.

Sordo had also been linked with a possible return to Citroen, although the French team is not expected to make an announcement regarding its line-up until 16 December. He could now be confirmed at Hyundai during the team's planned launch in Germany next week.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Hyundai i20 WRC test [Pic credit: Hyundai]
Thierry Neuville and co-driver Nicolas Gilsoul join Hyundai for 2014 [pic credit: Hyundai Motorsport]
Hyundai i20 WRC tarmac test [Pic credit: Hyundai]
Dani Sordo, Carlos del Barrio  (Citroen DS3 WRC #3, Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team)
Frygies Turan (HUN) - Gabor Zsiros (HUN) Ford Fiesta R5, Turán Motorsport Egyesület
Frygies Turan (HUN) - Gabor Zsiros (HUN) Ford Fiesta R5, Turán Motorsport Egyesület
Frygies Turan (HUN) - Gabor Zsiros (HUN) Ford Fiesta R5, Turán Motorsport Egyesület
Ott Tanak (EST) - Raigo Molder (EST) Ford Fiesta WRC, Dmack WRT
Dani Sordo (ESP) - Marc Marti (ESP) Hyundai New I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Gilbert Quentin (FRA) - Renaud Jamoul (BEL) Citroen DS3 R5
Gilbert Quentin (FRA) - Renaud Jamoul (BEL) Citroen DS3 R5
Hayden Paddon (NZL) - John Kennard (NZ) Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Thierry Neuville (BEL) - Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL) Hyundai New Generation I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport N
Pierre Louis Loubet (FRA) - Vincent Landais (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Pierre Louis Loubet (FRA) - Vincent Landais (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) - Miikka Anttila (FIN) Volkswagen Polo, Volkswagen Motorsport
Karl Kruuda (EST) - Martin Jarveoja (EST) Ford Fiesta R5, Drive Dmack Trophy Team
Armin Kremer (DEU) - Pimir Winklhofer (DEU) Skoda Fabia R5, Brr Baumschlager Rallye & Racing Team

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 06, 2013 8:53 PM

  •   Reply
  •   0 agree
  •   0 disagree

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.