Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier was officially crowned the 2013 World Rally champion on Friday night at the FIA's prize giving gala in Paris.

Ogier secured the title on his home event, Rallye de France Alsace and in total took nine victories from a possible 13.

He finished the season with 290 points on the board - 114 more than his closest rival, Qatar World Rally Team pilot, Thierry Neuville. Ogier's Volkswagen team-mate, Jari-Matti Latvala took third.

"Now that the season is over, I can look back on what has really been an incredible year," said the Frenchman. "If anyone had predicted before the start of the season that Julien [Ingrassia - my co-driver] and I would end up with nine wins and the World Championship title to our name, we would probably have sent him straight to our team doctor.

"For Julien and me it's a dream come true and we are both extremely proud and honoured to have received the FIA trophy this evening.

"But it also belongs to the team which did a great job in our debut year. They made this fantastic success possible by providing me with a magnificent car."

Volkswagen motorsport director, Jost Capito meanwhile received the Manufacturers' trophy on behalf of the German automotive giant. It is the first time a Manufacturer has won a title in its first season.

"We are very proud to have received the FIA trophies for all three titles in the World Rally Championship on this glamorous evening. Never in our wildest dreams did we reckon on such a fantastic result in our first season in the WRC," Capito stated.

"I would like to say a big thank you to everyone in the Volkswagen Team, from mechanics to truck drivers, race engineers to marketing staff; the commitment shown by every single person was instrumental in us achieving the greatest success in the history of Volkswagen Motorsport.

"And not forgetting the Polo R WRC, which not only demonstrated competitive speed right from the outset, but has also proven to be extremely reliable. That is an extraordinary effort in a debut year and our three driver pairings each produced outstanding performances too. Particularly S?bastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia, whose commanding nine wins make them more than worthy winners of their Driver and Co-Driver titles in the World Championship."


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment