Surface specialists will be recognised in the 2014 FIA European Rally Championship through three exciting new accolades that will be introduced into the series next year, subject to approval from the FIA.

At the ERC Awards Ceremony in Paris ERC promoter Eurosport Events revealed the creation of the ERC Asphalt, Gravel and Ice Masters, which will be handed out in honour of the drivers who perform best on those surfaces during the upcoming 2014 ERC season.

Points will be allocated on the usual 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 basis to the leading ten finishers according to the final overall classification.

The respective ERC Master will carry a coloured sticker on their car for the next event to signify their status. This will be displayed until they are no longer the ERC Master of their specialist surface. The three ERC Master trophies will be presented at the end-of-season awards.

"We are always looking to create extra buzz around each ERC event," ERC Co-ordinator Jean-Baptiste Ley said, "and the addition of the ERC Masters gives us that opportunity while also recognising the performances by drivers on the different surfaces encountered in the ERC."

The opening 'Ice Master' event of the season will be the opening round of the campaign in Austria, with Greece hosting the first gravel event and Ireland playing host to the opening asphalt rally.

Related Articles

The ERC Asphalt Master will be decided on the following:

Circuit of Ireland Rally (United Kingdom) 17-19 April Geko Ypres Rally (Belgium) 19-21 June Barum Czech Rally Zl?n (Czech Republic) 29-31 August Rallye International du Valais (Switzerland) 23-25 October Giru di Corsica-Tour de Corse (France) 6-8 November

The ERC Ice Master will be decided on the following:

31 Int. J?nnerrallye, Ober?sterreich (Austria) 3-5 January Rally Liepja (Latvia) 31 January-2 February Sibiu Rally Romania 27 February-1 March

The ERC Gravel Master will be decided on the following:

Acropolis Rally (Greece) 28-30 March 49th SATA Rallye A?ores (Portugal) 15-17 May auto24 Rally Estonia (Estonia) 17-19 July Cyprus Rally (Cyprus) 19-21 September