Bryan Bouffier was singled out as the worthy winner of the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy Driver of the Year because he never gave up during the 2013 season.

That was the judgement of FIA European Rally Championship general manager Jean-Pierre Nicolas, who was part of a three-person judging panel that selected Bouffier for the prestigious award.

"There was one driver who couldn't take part in all the events because he hasn't got any money, he finds the money for one event and then when that event is done he has to do it all again to get the money for the next event," Nicolas said as he prepared to hand over the award, "He even took a different co-driver for one rally because the co-driver had the sponsorship!

"Despite this, he never gave up, he always very quick, even though he was in an old car driving for a small team. He led in Austria, in Romania, in Poland, in Sanremo and won in Corsica...."

Jimmy McRae and Gilbert Roy, director of editorial for ERC promoter Eurosport Events, completed the judging panel alongside Nicolas.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment