ERC: Bouffier determination praised at Flat Out Trophy presentation

Bryan Bouffier's efforts to remain a part of the European Rally Championship in 2013 did as much to earn him the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy Driver of the Year award as his performance on the stages.

Bryan Bouffier was singled out as the worthy winner of the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy Driver of the Year because he never gave up during the 2013 season.

That was the judgement of FIA European Rally Championship general manager Jean-Pierre Nicolas, who was part of a three-person judging panel that selected Bouffier for the prestigious award.

“There was one driver who couldn't take part in all the events because he hasn't got any money, he finds the money for one event and then when that event is done he has to do it all again to get the money for the next event,” Nicolas said as he prepared to hand over the award, “He even took a different co-driver for one rally because the co-driver had the sponsorship!

“Despite this, he never gave up, he always very quick, even though he was in an old car driving for a small team. He led in Austria, in Romania, in Poland, in Sanremo and won in Corsica….”

Jimmy McRae and Gilbert Roy, director of editorial for ERC promoter Eurosport Events, completed the judging panel alongside Nicolas.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bryan Bouffier /Lara Vanneste. Peugeot 207 S2000. Geko Ypres Rally [Pic credit: ERC]
FIA ERC 2013 Tour de Corse Bryan Bouffier day two action image. (Photo Credit: FIA European Rally Championship)
Bryan Bouffier. Rally Poland [Pic credit: ERC]
Bryan Bouffier tests the Hyundai i20 WRC
Sebastien Ogier collects his WRC champion`s trophy at the FIA Prizegiving in Doha
Sebastien Ogier and VW celebrate at the FIA Prizegiving
Robert Kubica at the Monza Rally Show
Ford Olsbergs MSE celebrates winning the RX Teams` Championship
Liam Doran
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Nasser Al-Attiyah - Mini ALL4 Racing
Jari Ketomaa (FIN) Kaj Lindstrom (FIN), Ford Fiesta R5, WRC2 winners

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.