Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers of the Year 2013: 1: Robert Kubica

Nationality: Polish Team: Lotos Dynamic Rally Team / Abu Dhabi Citroen Total WRT Car: Citroen DS3 RRC (7 events) / Citroen DS3 WRC (1 event only) Championship position: 1st in WRC2 / 13th in WRC Points: 143 points in WRC2 / 18 points in WRC (average tally per event: 20.43 points in WRC2) Events: 8 (out of 13) - 7 in WRC2, 1 in WRC Wins: 5 in WRC2 / 0 in WRC Podiums: 6 in WRC2 in total / 0 in WRC Points finishes: 7 in WRC2 Stage wins: 57 in WRC2 / 0 in WRC Power Stage wins: 0

There is only one word to describe the way Robert Kubica performed in 2013 - and that is 'impressive'. The former F1 ace, who of course suffered that career-changing accident on the Ronde di Andora rally back in 2011, took the WRC2 title in style, claiming his fifth class win in succession in Spain. It followed victories in France, Germany, Sardinia and Greece, as well as a second place finish in Finland. He also scored first time out in the WRC and was sixth in class in Portugal.

Granted his outing in a Citroen DS3 WRC on Wales Rally GB didn't go to plan. However it was hardly the ideal event to get his first taste of a current generation WRC car, and a late switch of co-driver, also meant the Pole was up against it.

His four outings in the ERC weren't that great either - he only finished one of them when he was sixth on SATA Rallye A?ores - but having said that he did still take 18 ERC stage wins and his overall form was enough to secure him a full-time drive at the top level in 2014, as next season he will compete with M-Sport in a Lotos-supported Ford Fiesta RS WRC. He clearly impressed you too, and you gave him an unbeatable mark of 9.66 out of ten, easily giving him the top-spot in your 2013 World Rally Driver of the Year vote.

Do you think that score is about right or did people get carried away? Share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below...

Past vote results for Kubica:

F1 Driver of the Year vote 2010: 3rd
F1 Driver of the Year vote 2009: 13th=
F1 Driver of the Year vote 2008: 3rd's World Rally Driver of the Year 2013 - results (2nd to 10th):

2. Sebastien Ogier 3. Sebastien Loeb 4. Thierry Neuville 5. Jan Kopecky 6. Elfyn Evans 7. Dani Sordo 8. Jari-Matti Latvala 9. Bryan Bouffier 10. Sebastien Chardonnet

Like WRC? 'Like' the Facebook page to receive news directly to your timeline...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment