Dani Sordo topped the times in the shakedown for Rally Argentina this morning, the fifth round in the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship.

Sordo opted for four runs through the test, setting his best time on his final run, when he completed it in 2 minute 31.3 seconds. That left him 0.4 seconds up on M-Sport man, Mikko Hirvonen, who in turn was just 0.3 seconds ahead of the Volkswagen of Jari-Matti Latvala in third.

Speaking prior to the event, Sordo said: "I'm really grateful that the team gave me the chance to compete in Argentina after the good performance we had in Portugal (Juho Hanninen was originally scheduled to drive the second i20 WRC - Ed). I intend to make the most of this opportunity to help the team in the development of the Hyundai i20 WRC as we did in Portugal."

Related Articles

"It is again an event where we feel almost like at home," he continued. "It's a rally that I really like and where I had some good results in the past."

"It is unique, there's always a very nice atmosphere and we get a lot of support from the local fans there," he added.

Thierry Neuville meanwhile took fourth in the second Hyundai i20 WRC, 1 second off his team-mate, while defending WRC champion and pre-event favourite, Sebastien Ogier came in fifth in his Polo R WRC.

Andreas Mikkelsen rounded out the top six followed by Mads Ostberg, Elfyn Evans, Robert Kubica and Kris Meeke in positions 7 through to 10. Meeke was 3.6 seconds off the pace in his Citroen, but opted for just two runs, like Ostberg, Mikkelsen and Ogier.

The event now gets underway this afternoon with SS1, the 6.04 km Super Especial 1 set to commence at 16.00 hours local time [20.00 hours UK time]. Competitors then tackle the first 'proper' stages on Friday.

Rally Argentina - Shakedown results (Top 10):

1. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC 2m 31.6s M
2. Mikko Hirvonen M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 00.4s M
3. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 00.7s M
4. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 01.0s M
5. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 01.2s M
6. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 01.3s M
7. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +0m 01.8s M
8. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 02.4s M
9. Robert Kubica RK M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 02.6s M
10. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +0m 03.6s M


11. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 03.9 M

all times unofficial