WRC Rally de Espana: Neuville tops shakedown

Hyundai's Thierry Neuville fastest in RallyRACC-Rally de Espana shakedown, 0.2 seconds up on Sebastien Ogier
Hyundai's Thierry Neuville was quickest this morning in the shakedown for RallyRACC - Rally de Espana, the penultimate round in WRC 2014.

Neuville posted the marker on his second and final pass through the 2.94 km mixed surface Salou stage, completing it in 2 minutes 9.2 seconds, 0.2 seconds up on Volkswagen man Sebastien Ogier.

“The car is perfect. The tyres are fine and we're happy with the time,” said Neuville.

“So far, so good,” added Ogier. “No problem with the tyres.”

Dani Sordo came in third in his Hyundai i20 WRC, 0.3 seconds further back, while former Formula 1 driver Robert Kubica and Yuriy Protasov rounded out the top five, both in M-Sport-run Fiesta RS WRC cars.

Further back, Andreas Mikkelsen and Jari-Matti Latvala were sixth and seventh, with Ken Block, Hayden Paddon and Mikko Hirvonen in positions 8 through to 10.

The event now gets underway this evening with SS1, the 3.20 km Barcelona super special, scheduled to start at 18.08 hours local time [17.08 hours UK time]. Rally de Espana then starts 'proper' on Friday, with two loops of three stages on the bill. SS2, the 7 km Gandesa 1 test, is due to begin tomorrow at 08.33 hours local time [07.33 hours UK time].

RallyRACC-Rally de Espana - Shakedown results (Top 10):

1. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC 2m 09.2s M
2. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 2m 09.4s M
3. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC 2m 09.7s M
4. Robert Kubica RK M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC 2m 09.8s M
5. Yuriy Protasov M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC 2m 10.0s
6. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC 2m 10.1s M
7. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 2m 10.3s M
8. Ken Block M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC 2m 10.4s
9. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC 2m 11.6s M
10. Mikko Hirvonen M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC 2m 11.8s M


11. Khalid Al Qassimi Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC 2m 12.4s M
12. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC 2m 12.6s M
13. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC 2m 13.5s M
Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC 2m 45.5s M

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Thierry Neuville (BEL) Hyundai i20 WRC

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.