WRC Wales Rally GB: Ogier one stage from victory

Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier continues to lead Wales Rally GB with just one stage to go, but Kris Meeke has lost third
Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier remains in the lead on Wales Rally GB following Sunday morning's loop of five stages.

Ogier began the final leg with a 58.1 second advantage and that has meant he has been able to cruise through: “I am taking it easy,” he confirmed after the penultimate stage. “I am taking the safe route to the end, no risks.”

Meanwhile, Mikko Hirvonen has resisted the pressure and is now comfortably second on his final WRC event, after Britain's Kris Meeke lost over 50 seconds in SS22 due to tyre damage, a result of his run through a ditch in SS18.

“It can happen to anyone,” said Hirvonen. “I was enjoying the fight [with Meeke] but I can now take it easier and enjoy the views.”

Meeke's woes promote Mads Ostberg up to third, with Thierry Neuville slotting into fourth, the two split by 12.1 seconds.

Elfyn Evans remains sixth, but is now only 2 seconds off Meeke in P5, while Ott Tanak, Jari-Matti Latvala, Martin Prokop and Hayden Paddon hold positions 7 through to 10.

Jari Ketomaa remains 12th overall - one spot behind former Formula 1 driver Robert Kubica - and still on top in WRC2.

Wales Rally GB now concludes with a repeat-run through the 10.04 km Alwen 2 test, ran as the Power Stage and due to start at 12.08 hours local time.

Wales Rally GB: Overall standings after Stage 22 (Top 20):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 2hrs 55m 51.4s M
2. Mikko Hirvonen M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +00m 40.1s M
3. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +01m 12.6s M
4. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +01m 24.7s M
5. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC +01m 30.3s M
6. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +01m 32.3s M
7. Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +02m 33.3s
8. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +02m 59.6s M
9. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +03m 47.8s M
10. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +03m 50.1s M


11. Robert Kubica RK M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +04m 17.9s M
12. Jari Ketomaa Ford Fiesta R5 +10m 41.8s WRC2

WRC2 standings after Stage 22 (Top 3):

1. Jari Ketomaa Ford Fiesta R5 3hrs 06m 33.2s WRC2
2. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta R5 +01m 00.9s WRC2
3. Matthew Wilson Ford Fiesta RRC +01m 22.2s WRC2

Notable retirements:

SS2. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC Hit a bank M*
SS3. Juho Hanninen Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC Went off M*
SS7. David Bogie Ford Fiesta R5 Punctures WRC2

SS17/18. Bernardo Sousa Ford Fiesta RRC Mechanical WRC2

SS19. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC Went off M
SS19/20. Henning Solberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC Fuel leak

M denotes Manufacturer entry
* denotes re-started under Rally 2 on Saturday

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.