WRC Driver of the Year: 6th – Andreas Mikkelsen

You voted Volkswagen Motorsport II driver Andreas Mikkelsen into 6th place in Crash.net's 2014 WRC Driver of the Year poll

6th - Andreas Mikkelsen
Average poll score out of ten: 6
Team: Volkswagen Motorsport II
Car: Polo R WRC
Championship position: 3rd
Points: 150 points in WRC
Events: 13 (out of 13)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 5
Best finish: 2nd
Stage wins: 20
Power Stage wins: 1

Andreas Mikkelsen enjoyed a stellar season in 2014 and the Volkswagen Motorsport II pilot ensured the squad finished 1-2-3 in the Drivers' Championship.

Mikkelsen made few errors and only twice finished out of the points, after a nightmare event in Mexico and after crashing out twice in Wales.

In the end he took five podiums - three times finishing runner-up and in Sweden and Poland battled for the win, before eventually having to settle for P2. He also led in Spain and France too and in addition to his rostrum results, took six other top-ten finishes, including four fourth places and all this despite a co-driver change - with Ola Floene coming back in from Sardinia after he parted company with Mikko Markkula.

Mikkelsen now can't be far off that first WRC win.

Andreas Mikkelsen in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: 15th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: 5th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 9th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 12th

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:
7. Elfyn Evans
8. Dani Sordo
9. Mads Ostberg
10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 19, 2014 8:50 PM
Last Edited 668 days ago

MotoGP Star of the Year vote: 6th- 27 comments F1 Driver of the Year 2014: 6th - 7 comments WSBK Rider of the Year vote: 6th - 6 comments WRC Driver of the Year: 6th - none, so far. Is there still interest in WRC ?

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.