WRC Driver of the Year: 5th - Mikko Hirvonen

You voted M-Sport World Rally Team man Mikko Hirvonen into 5th place in Crash.net's 2014 WRC Driver of the Year poll.
5th - Mikko Hirvonen
Average poll score out of ten: 6.1
Team: M-Sport WRT
Car: Fiesta RS WRC
Championship position: 4th
Points: 126 points in WRC
Events: 13 (out of 13)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 3
Best finish: 2nd
Stage wins: 7
Power Stage wins: 0

Mikko Hirvonen concluded his last season in the WRC on a high with two podiums in the final two events. However, his return to M-Sport – the team with which he finished runner-up in the WRC Drivers' Championship four-times – was no fairytale.

Hirvonen retired on the Monte, the season opener, with mechanical issues and while he was a solid fourth in Sweden, he had to settle for eighth in Mexico, after electrical issues on Friday afternoon put him out. He had been running in a strong third.

Hirvonen then took a morale boosting second in Portugal, but had to wait until the penultimate round and the trip to Spain before he again stood on the rostrum. A mistake in Argentinia (missed a pace-note) and a fire in Sardinia (no fault of his own) all cost him and while he was fourth in Poland and then fifth in Finland, Germany, Australia and France, he never seemed to be quite as quick as expected and at times just seemed a bit lacklustre.

Mikko Hirvonen in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: 14th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: 6th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 10th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 10th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 2nd
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 2nd

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:
6. Andreas Mikkelsen
7. Elfyn Evans
8. Dani Sordo
9. Mads Ostberg
10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mikko Hirvonen, Jarmo Lehtinen (Ford Fiesta WRC, #5 M-Sport World Rally Team)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.