WRC Driver of the Year: 4th – Thierry Neuville

You voted Hyundai team leader Thierry Neuville into 4th place in Crash.net's 2014 WRC Driver of the Year poll.

4th - Thierry Neuville
Average poll score out of ten: 6.2
Team: Hyundai Motorsport
Car: i20 WRC
Championship position: 6th
Points: 105 points in WRC
Events: 13 (out of 13)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 3
Best finish: 1st
Stage wins: 6
Power Stage wins: 0

Thierry Neuville was one of the stars in 2013 en-route to the runners-up spot in the Drivers' Championship and he again delivered this season.

Taking on the role of team leader with the new Hyundai team, Neuville successfully gave the squad its first podium in only its third event, when he was third in Mexico, and then followed that up with another third in Poland.

He then capitalised to win in Germany, when Sebastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and Kris Meeke all threw it away - a great comeback given he had that massive crash in the shakedown when he rolled his Hyundai i20 WRC multiple times before the event had even started.

That wasn't the only crash he had, as he also notably went out in the very first stage on Rallye Monte Carlo and binned it early on in Finland, but he still came through to take points in nine of the 13 events, ending the year fourth on Wales Rally GB and sixth in the Drivers' Championship.

If Hyundai can continue to improve in 2015, he should be able to take lots more podiums and possibly even some more wins too.

Thierry Neuville in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: 4th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: 12th

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:
5. Mikko Hirvonen
6. Andreas Mikkelsen
7. Elfyn Evans
8. Dani Sordo
9. Mads Ostberg
10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC, #7 Hyundai Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 21, 2014 1:39 PM

  •   Reply
  •   0 agree
  •   0 disagree

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.