WRC Driver of the Year: 3rd - Kris Meeke

You voted Britain's Kris Meeke into 3rd place in Crash.net's 2014 WRC Driver of the Year poll
3rd - Kris Meeke
Average poll score out of ten: 6.7
Team: Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT
Car: Citroen DS3 WRC
Championship position: 7th
Points: 92 points in WRC
Events: 13 (out of 13)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 4
Best finish: 3rd
Stage wins: 8
Power Stage wins: 0

Kris Meeke made the most of his first full-season in the WRC and by the end of the year had done enough to convince Citroen to retain him.

Meeke began his 2014 campaign with a dream podium first time out on Rallye Monte Carlo and then looked set for sixth in Sweden, his very first snow rally, until a mistake on the final day dropped him back to tenth.

Successive DNFs in Mexico and Portugal then followed, before another third in Argentina gave the Ulsterman a timely boost.

Sardinia was next up with electrical problems leaving him down in 18th at the finish and while Poland was also tough, with a puncture costing him valuable time, he still scored.

Meeke then came to the fore in the second half of the season and with experience of most of the events, really capitalised.

He put in a superb performance in Finland to go third and could have won in Germany but for an optimistic pace note. He was though firmly establishing himself as one of the front runners, and three more points finishes in the final four events – including a third in France, his fourth podium of the season - saw him conclude the year very positively.

He should be one to watch now in 2015.

Kris Meeke in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 7th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: N/A
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: N/A

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:
4. Thierry Neuville
5. Mikko Hirvonen
6. Andreas Mikkelsen
7. Elfyn Evans
8. Dani Sordo
9. Mads Ostberg
10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Kris Meeke (GBR) Paul Nagle (IRL) Citroen DS3 WRC

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 22, 2014 5:17 PM

Hope he has a decent run next year. one of the few drivers able to run with the top guys on pure speed. hopefully the consistency is there in 2015 and the car is competitive.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.