WRC Driver of the Year: 2nd - Jari-Matti Latvala

You voted Volkswagen's Jari-Matti Latvala into 2nd place in Crash.net's 2014 WRC Driver of the Year poll
2nd – Jari-Matti Latvala
Average poll score out of ten: 6.9
Team: Volkswagen Motorsport
Car: Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Championship position: 2nd
Points: 218 points in WRC
Events: 13 (out of 13)
Wins: 4
Podiums: 8
Best finish: 1st
Stage wins: 85
Power Stage wins: 4

2014 was a break-through season for Jari-Matti Latvala and the Finn remained in title contention until the penultimate round.

Latvala was much more consistent this year and he often proved more than a match for his Volkswagen team-mate and two-time WRC Champion Sebastien Ogier.

Wins in Sweden, Argentina, Finland and France were obvious highs and in Alsace he finally took his first win on asphalt, something he should really have done a few months before in Germany, but he crashed out on the final day.

He also crashed out in Portugal and went off the road in Wales, both times while vying for the lead with Ogier, but took strength from having mounted his first “serious” challenge for the WRC title and has every chance of winning it in 2015.

Jari-Matti Latvala in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: 8th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: 7th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 2nd
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 5th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 5th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 3rd

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:
3. Kris Meeke
4. Thierry Neuville
5. Mikko Hirvonen
6. Andreas Mikkelsen
7. Elfyn Evans
8. Dani Sordo
9. Mads Ostberg
10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.