The World Rally Championship promoter has put forward an initial nine rallies for the 2016 WRC calendar which have received the backing of the FIA World Rally Championship Commission.

Each event has a multi-year agreement with the WRC and were given approval by the commission in Paris on Tuesday (12 May). They will now be submitted for final ratification by the World Motor Sport Council and are subject to satisfactory running in 2015.

The nine rounds confirmed are Monte Carlo, Sweden, Argentina, Australian, Finland, Italy, Mexico, Poland and Spain. Rally Monte Carlo has also confirmed its dates for next season, 21-24 January, along with Rally Sweden, 12-14 February. Dates for the remaining seven are yet to be confirmed.

Related Articles

WRC Promoters expect a final calendar to be drafted by September and managing director Oliver Ciesla says he is delighted to offer such a broad and expansive calendar to fans.

"WRC is unlike other FIA world championship in that it begins in January and so we have the luxury to select the dates for Rallye Monte-Carlo and Rally Sweden in the knowledge there will be no conflicts," Ciesla said.

"It's a conscious decision that allows all nine events to start planning and making preparations as soon as possible, and we look forward to final approval of these rallies by the WMSC."

Ciesla has also sparked news of new rallies joining the WRC calendar which haven't been run before.

"We also have exciting proposals on the table from countries not currently on the calendar and discussions have started with a view to bringing at least one, and perhaps two, of those events onto next year's calendar," he added. "However, we will most likely aim to maintain the same number of rounds in the championship."