WRC Rally de Portugal: Mikkelsen wins first short test

Andreas Mikkelsen has taken the initial lead on Rally de Portugal, heading a Volkswagen 1-2-3 in the short 3.36 km Lousada test
Volkswagen Motorsport II pilot Andreas Mikkelsen leads Rally de Portugal after setting the pace this evening in the short 3.36 km Lousada test.

Mikkelsen, who was also quickest in the shakedown this morning, completed the stage in 2 minutes 41.1 seconds, leaving him 0.5 seconds up on team-mate, Sebastien Ogier, while Jari-Matti Latvala was third, 0.3s further back. The result mirrored that of the shakedown with Volkswagen again ending up 1-2-3.

Drivers tackled the test two at a time, with Mikkelsen, Ogier and Latvala each winning their duels with Elfyn Evans, Mads Ostberg and Dani Sordo respectively.

“It was great fun, a great way to kick off the rally. A clean stage but really dusty and hard to see in places,” Mikkelsen told the official WRC site.

“It was okay but not easy though - there was a lot of dust and I braked way too early for the hairpin. Tomorrow will be the real start,” Ogier added.

Behind, Robert Kubica was fourth on his return to action after missing Rally Argentina, with Thierry Neuville, Kris Meeke, Ostberg, Martin Prokop, Sordo and Lorenzo Bertelli filling positions 5 through to 10.

The action now continues on Friday with six stages on the bill and a total competitive distance of 128.68 km.

SS2, the 27.53 km Ponte de Lima 1 test, is scheduled to start at 09.40 hours local time. Full itinerary for event available - HERE.

2015 Rally de Portugal: Overall standings after Stage 1 (Top 10):

1. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC 2m 41.1s M
2. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 0.5s M
3. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 0.8s M
4. Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 1.4s
5. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 2.1s M
6. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 2.2s M
7. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 2.3s M
8. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 2.6s M
9. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 2.7s M
10. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 2.8s M


11. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 3.3s M
12. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 3.4s M
13. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +0m 4.2s M

WRC2 standings after Stage 1 (Top 3):

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RRC 2m 46.7s WRC2
2. Jari Ketomaa Ford Fiesta R5 +0m 0.3s WRC2
3. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 1.5s WRC2

Notable retirements:


M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial
by Rob Wilkins

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.