WRC Rally Poland: Ogier wins short opener

Sebastien Ogier edges local star and home favourite Robert Kubica to take the early lead on Rally Poland
Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier leads Rally Poland after topping the times on Thursday evening in the short 2.50 km Mikolajki Arena super special.

Ogier, who took his fourth win of the 2015 WRC season last time out in Sardinia – extending his championship lead to 66 points, almost double that of his nearest rival (133 versus 67), completed the test in 1 minute 43.9 seconds. As normal, drivers tackled the super special two-by-two, with Ogier easily beating Thierry Neuville, who he was paired with, and edging out local star Robert Kubica, who wound up 'best of the rest', 0.5s back in his Fiesta.

“For sure Robert did a good job here,” said Ogier, “and I am sorry to spoil it for him!”

Behind, VW Motorsport II pilto Andreas Mikkelsen was third, despite grazing a barrier, ahead of Ford privateer Martin Prokop in fourth and Jari-Matti Latvala in fifth. M-Sport's Ott Tanak rounds out the top six, with WRC2 runners Stephane Lefebvre and Pontus Tidemand seventh and eighth.

Neuville and Dani Sordo complete the top-ten, the latter reporting he was “under-steering all the time”.

After rolling in the shakedown, Kris Meeke was back in action in his repaired Citroen DS 3 WRC, but stalled at the start and was only 17th quickest.

The action now continues on Friday with eight stages on the bill and a total competitive distance of over 150 kilometres. SS2, the 13.00 km Gorklo test, is scheduled to start tomorrow at 08.00 hours local time. Full itinerary for round seven in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 Rally Poland: Overall standings after Stage 1 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 1m 43.9s M
2. Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 00.5s
3. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 00.6s M
4. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 01.5s M
5. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 02.0s M
6. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 02.4s M
7. Stephane Lefebvre Citroen DS 3 RRC +0m 02.6s WRC2
8. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 02.7s WRC2
9. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 02.8s M
10. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 02.9s M


11. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 03.2s M
12. Kevin Abbring Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 03.5s
13. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +0m 03.5s M
14. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RRC +0m 03.6s WRC2
15. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 03.6s M
17. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 04.1s M
21. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 05.5s M

WRC2 standings after Stage 1 (Top 3):

1. Stephane Lefebvre Citroen DS 3 RRC 1m 46.5s WRC2
2. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 00.1s WRC2
3. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RRC +0m 01.0s WRC2

Notable retirements:


M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial
by Rob Wilkins

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.