WRC Rally Poland: Ogier ekes out lead

Sebastien Ogier will take a 2.1 second advantage into day two of Rally Poland, after stretching his lead slightly in the end of leg short SSS
Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier managed to stretch his Rally Poland lead ever so slightly on the second run through the Mikolajki Arena SSS on Friday evening.

Ogier slipped back to third this morning on the first loop, but in the afternoon re-took P1, finishing SS8, the final 'proper' test of the leg, with a 1.9s advantage. The Frenchman was then fourth quickest in SS9, allowing him to eke out his margin over Andreas Mikkelsen to 2.1s.

“An excellent day - but a really tiring one too,” Ogier summarised. “As always, we gave it everything and are happy with the result. The stages around Mikolajki really are extremely fast. Perhaps the fastest of the entire season. And it was still a bit slippery this morning. You really need to have a lot of feeling at the wheel. Our tyre selection for the afternoon loop was possibly not perfect, but we got the most out of the day.”

Meanwhile, Ford privateer Martin Prokop set the pace in the second blast through the 2.50 km Mikolajki Arena SSS, with drivers again tackling it two-by-two. Former F1 star and local favourite Robert Kubica again had to settle for second in the SSS, 0.3s slower, with WRC2 runner, Pontus Tidemand third.

There was no significant changes to the overall classification, with Jari-Matti Latvala still third ahead of Ott Tanak, Hayden Paddon, Kubica and the rest.

Rally Poland now continues on Saturday, with eight more stages on the bill and a total competitive distance of almost 130 kilometres. SS10, the 17.70km Mazury 1 test, is scheduled to start tomorrow at 08.25 hours local time. Full itinerary for round seven in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 Rally Poland: Overall standings after Stage 9 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 1h 17m 42.5s M
2. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 02.1s M
3. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 10.8s M
4. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 16.7s M
5. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +0m 35.9s M
6. Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 37.4s
7. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 41.3s M
8. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 07.1s M
9. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +1m 15.0s M
10. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 15.5s M


11. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1m 42.1s M
12. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 +2m 23.5s WRC2
13. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2m 30.0s M
14. Kevin Abbring Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +2m 38.2s
15. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +3m 13.6s WRC2
16. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4m 05.7s M
17. Karl Kruuda Citroen DS 3 R5 +4m 10.6s WRC2

WRC2 standings after Stage 9 (Top 3):

1. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 1h 20m 06.0s WRC2
2. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 50.1s WRC2
3. Karl Kruuda Citroen DS 3 R5 +1m 47.1s WRC2

Notable retirements:


M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial
by Rob Wilkins

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.