Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier will take a 5.5 second advantage into the final day of Rally Poland.

Ogier extended his overnight lead from 2.1s to 7.2s this morning, but then saw it trimmed in the afternoon, with team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen closing to within 4.7s. Ogier, however, responded on the third run through the Mikolajki Arena SSS, notching up his sixth stage win of the event to eke out 0.9s.

"I'm really pleased with my rally so far - leading the rally from my position of first on the road is very satisfying," said Ogier, who is looking to extend his already considerable 66-point championship lead this weekend with his fifth win of the year.

Related Articles

"The fight is close and I'm ready to continue it tomorrow.

"It promises to be exciting to the end."

"I'm happy with my day," Mikkelsen insisted. "We went on to hard tyres [this afternoon], and it was a shame one stage [SS14] got cancelled - that spoiled my game plan a bit. But I did as good as I could and I pushed hard."

Behind, M-Sport's Ott Tanak ends day two in third, 12s off the fight at the front, and only 1.5s up on the other VW of Jari-Matti Latvala. Tanak had been 5.9s back last night, but three stages win has brought him right back into contention.

"The plan is to keep the podium," Tanak said. "It's nice to be in a fight. We are close to the podium now. I feel good."

Hayden Paddon is next up in a distant fifth, followed by Hyundai team-mate, Thierry Neuville and local star, Robert Kubica. Kris Meeke, Mads Ostberg and Dani Sordo complete the top ten, with Martin Prokop eleventh and WRC2 class leader, Esapekka Lappi 12th in the new Skoda Fabia R5.

Rally Poland now draws to a close on Sunday with only one stage on the bill, the 14.60km Baranowo test, which is scheduled to be run twice. SS18, the first run through it, is due to start at 09.10 hours local time. Itinerary for round seven in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 Rally Poland: Overall standings after Stage 17 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 2h 12m 23.2s M
2. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 05.5s M
3. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 17.6s M
4. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 19.1s M
5. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +0m 55.6s M
6. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +1m 15.0s M
7. Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1m 29.2s
8. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 39.4s M
9. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 56.0s M
10. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +2m 17.1s M


11. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4m 01.0s M
12. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 +4m 53.4s WRC2
13. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +5m 31.1s WRC2
14. Karl Kruuda Citroen DS 3 R5 +6m 57.6s WRC2
15. Kevin Abbring Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +7m 50.4s
16. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +7m 50.5s M

WRC2 standings after Stage 17 (Top 3):

1. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 2h 17m 16.6s WRC2
2. Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 37.7s WRC2
3. Karl Kruuda Citroen DS 3 R5 +2m 04.2s WRC2

Notable retirements:

SS10/11. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC Suspected water pump failure M

M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial