Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier has extended his overnight lead on Rally Australia this morning after winning all three stages, as he closes on victory and that third WRC Drivers' title.

Ogier began the final leg just 0.3 seconds up on Kris Meeke and 2.6s up on team-mate, Jari-Matti Latvala, but pushed through SS13, beating Latvala by 2.5s, while Meeke slipped back to third.

Ogier was then 1s up on Latvala in SS14 and 1.2s quicker in SS15 to finish the loop 7.3 seconds ahead: "Perfect morning - very pleased with my run," Ogier said after Settles Rd. "This stage was really fast so no room for mistakes. It was a clean run for me."

Related Articles

"I am trying to think where I can get more time," Latvala added. "Probably I need to get the car to turn in a better - as I have an understeer problem - that would be one solution.

"It is not over..."

Meanwhile, Meeke holds third, but now only 4.2s up on VW Motorsport II pilot Andreas Mikkelsen.

"I just do what I do. I am happy - I just continue my driving and do the same job I did yesterday," Meeke said post-SS15. "Okay the reality of it [the pace of the VWs] can be depressing sometimes."

"We tried to push and give it a go. This stage was alright - as it was new," added Mikkelsen, who had been 8.8s adrift of Meeke last night.

"It is possible to go faster and I am feeling very confident keeping this pace. I am sure we can increase the pace this afternoon."

Further back, Hayden Paddon continues to hold fifth for Hyundai, from M-Sport's Ott Tanak - who reported a "strange noise from the transmission post-SS15 - and then the other Hyundai's of Thierry Neuville and Dani Sordo in positions 6 through to 8.

Elfyn Evans and WRC2 class leader Nasser Al-Attiyah round out the top ten. Al-Attiyah is 16.9s up on Yuriy Protasov in the battle for WRC2 honours, the latter picking up a 10-sec penalty in SS15 for jumping the start.

Competitors now head back to Coffs Harbour for a 30-minute service before tackling Bucca Long 2 (SS16) at 11.42 hours local time. SS17, Wedding Bells 2 - the Power Stage and final one of the event - is due to start at 13.08 hours local time.

2015 Rally Australia: Overall standings after Stage 15 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 2h 41m 41.1s M
2. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 07.3s M
3. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 19.6s M
4. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 23.8s M
5. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 42.2s M
6. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1m 12.1s M
7. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +1m 45.5s M
8. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +1m 52.6s M
9. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4m 01.3s M
10. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RRC +10m 23.2s WRC2


11. Yuriy Protasov Ford Fiesta RRC +10m 40.1s WRC2
12. Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari Ford Fiesta RRC +12m 25.4s WRC2
13. Stephane Lefebvre Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +15m 31.5s M*
14. Nathan Quinn Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +16m 10.6s WRC2

WRC2 standings after Stage 15 (Top 3):

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta RRC 2h 52m 04.3s WRC2
2. Yuriy Protasov Ford Fiesta RRC +0m 16.9s WRC2
3. Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari Ford Fiesta RRC +2m 02.2s WRC2

Notable retirements:

SS8. Stephane Lefebvre Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC Hit a rock M*

SS9. Lorenzo Bertelli FWRT SRL Ford Fiesta RS WRC Engine M**
SS11. Yazeed Al-Rajhi Ford Fiesta RRC Went off WRC2

*Re-started on Saturday under Rally 2.
**Re-started on Sunday under Rally 2.

M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial