Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier has taken the early lead on RallyRACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada after setting the pace in the short 3.20km Barcelona super special on Thursday evening.

Ogier, who is gunning for his eighth win of the season in Spain, completed the tarmac test in 3 minutes 37.8 seconds, leaving him 2.1s up on the Hyundai of Thierry Neuville, while team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen was third, 0.8s further back in his VW Motorsport II Polo R WRC.

"It is good to start this way but I remember in Corsica we started like this and then it didn't go so well!" Ogier told the official WRC site. "The real start is tomorrow. I'm happy though, it was a clean drive. Now I'm looking forward to tomorrow.

Related Articles

"I'm going to go for it."

Behind, Citroen duo Kris Meeke and Mads Ostberg came in fourth and sixth, sandwiching the Fiesta RS of former F1 driver, Robert Kubica.

Jari-Matti Latvala, Hayden Paddon, Dani Sordo and WRC 2 leader, Nasser Al-Attiyah then filled positions 7 through to 10.

"Others focussed more on getting their tyres up to temperature before the short special stage at the start of Rally Spain than we did. That is probably why we lost a bit of time compared to the leaders," Latvala noted.

"However, the serious business does not begin until tomorrow, with eight special stages scheduled. That is what we are concentrating on."

RallyRACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada now begins 'proper' on Friday with eight stages on the bill and a total competitive distance of 128.60 km. SS2, the 9.62km Mora d'Ebre-Asco 1 test, is due to start at 10.08 hours local time [09.08 hours UK time].

Full itinerary for round twelve in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 Rally RACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada: Overall standings after Stage 1 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC 3m 37.8s M
2. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 02.1s M
3. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC +0m 02.9s M
4. Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 03.3s M
5. Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 03.9s
6. Mads Ostberg Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 04.7s M
7. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC +0m 05.2s M
8. Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC +0m 05.4s M
9. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +0m 06.4s M
10. Nasser Al-Attiyah Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 06.5s WRC2


11. Ott Tanak M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 07.0s M
12. Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 07.3s M
13. Jan Kopecky Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 07.4s WRC2
14. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 08.7s M
15. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 08.7s WRC2
16. Elfyn Evans M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC +0m 09.0s M
17. Stephane Lefebvre Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +0m 09.9s

WRC2 standings after Stage 1 (Top 3):

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Skoda Fabia R5 3m 44.3s WRC2
2. Jan Kopecky Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 00.9s WRC2
3. Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 +0m 02.2s WRC2

Notable retirements:


M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial