WRC Driver of the Year – 3rd: Hayden Paddon

You voted Hyundai's Hayden Paddon into 3rd place in Crash.net's 2015 WRC Driver of the Year poll
WRC Driver of the Year 2015: 3rd

3rd – Hayden Paddon
Average poll score out of ten: 6.9
Team: Hyundai Motorsport
Car: i20 WRC
Championship position: 9th
Points: 84 points
Events: 12 out of 13 (all WRC)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 1
Best finish: 2nd
Stage wins: 7
Power Stage wins: 0

Without question one of the stars of the season, Hayden Paddon turned heads as he rewarded Hyundai's faith in him with a rapid and consistent campaign.

A top five finish on his first outing in Sweden offered a glimpse at Paddon's potential before he emerged as a surprise contender for outright victory in Sardinia, the Kiwi only just losing out to Sebastien Ogier.

A trio of top five finishes towards the end of the year, plus a sixth place in Spain, would see him fall just six points shy of being Hyundai's top representative in the final standings, but he had done enough to impress Hyundai and duly inked a new three-year full-time deal for 2016-2018.

In your vote you gave him an average mark of 6.9 out of ten, leaving him third overall and ahead of both Andreas Mikkelsen and Jari-Matti Latvala. Do you think that score is about right? Share your opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Also, don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in second place.

Hayden Paddon in the WRC Driver of the Year poll:
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2014: 12th
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2013: 17th
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2012: N/A
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2011: 13th
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2010: N/A
Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2009: N/A

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 3,000 votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Hayden Paddon / Hyundai
Hayden Paddon / Hyundai
Hayden Paddon / Hyundai
Hayden Paddon, John Kennard (Hyundai i20 WRC, #20 Hyundai Motorsport N)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.