The World Motor Sport Council has confirmed a provisional 2017 World Rally Championship calendar with the full schedule expected by the end of November.

A provisional 12-round calendar has been published with the possibility of extending it to 14 rounds.

The 12 rounds confirmed have been retained from the 2016 calendar with the exception of Poland and China, but the two events are part of the three in contention for the final two places alongside Turkey.

Rallye Monte Carlo retains its traditional place as the curtain raiser in late January with Rally Australia keeping its place as the final round after being switched back this year.

The Tour de Corse at Corsica, which runs this week, has been shifted to early April in between the two flyaway events in Mexico and Argentina.

Provisional 2017 WRC calendar

20-22 January Rally Monte Carlo
10-12 February Rally Sweden
10-12 March Rally Mexico
7-9 April Rallye de France
28-30 April Rally Argentina*
19-21 May Rally de Portugal
9-11 June Rally Italia*
Date to be confirmed Rally Finland
Date to be confirmed Rally Germany
Date to be confirmed Rally Spain
Date to be confirmed Rally Great Britain
Date to be confirmed Rally Australia

*Subject to formalisation of agreed terms and conditions between WRC Promoter, FIA and the Event Organiser.

The candidates for the 13th or a potential 14th event are Turkey, China and Poland. The final calendar will be presented at the World Motor Sport Council meeting on 30 November, 2016.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment