McRae does the hatrick with Acropolis win.

Of the other teams there was a thrilling conclusion to the fight for maximum points in the FIA Teams Cup category for Privateers. Long-time leader Hamed Al Wahaibi retired yesterday evening with wheel damage, allowing Pasi Hagstrom to take over the lead in his Toyota. But the Finnish driver retired this morning when his car lost all of its water by the end of SS16. Abdullah Bakashab then assumed the lead, but the Saudi driver was closed down by Henrik Lundgaard during the last two stages and the Dane eventually took the honours. Gabriel Pozzo won the Group N category for more standard machinery, ahead of Gustavo Trelles.

In the FIA Super 1600 Cup, Sebastien Loeb backed up his Catalunya win with another category success this afternoon. The Citroen driver recovered from his earlier penalties to win by more than three minutes from Italian Fiat driver Andrea Dallavilla.

Rally statistics:

Starters: 64 cars (50 Group A + 14 Group N) restarted the rally
Retirements: Sainz (E), Burns (GB) + 14 non seeded drivers

Today: Sunday 17 June:

Leg 3 started from Itea at 07h00 and covered 508.74km, including 126.37km on 7 special stages.

Leg three - stage by stage summary

SS14 Amfiklia 1 (8.25kms):
1. Burns (GB) Subaru 4m 49.6
2. McRae (GB) Ford 4m 51.6
3. Sainz (E) Ford 4m 52.4

Leaders after SS14:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 2h 58m 13.7
2. Sainz (E) Ford 2h 58m 24.3
3. Burns (GB) Subaru 2h 58m 26.5

SS15 Elatia-Rengini 1 (38.69kms):
1. Solberg (N) Subaru 25m 37.5
2. McRae (GB) Ford 25m 42.4
3. Delecour (F) Ford 25m 44.6

Leaders after SS15:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 23m 56.1
2. Sainz (E) Ford 3h 24m 10.9
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 3h 24m 53.9

SS16 Livadia 2 (11.66kms):
1. Burns (GB) Subaru 9m 19.2
2. Sainz (E) Ford 9m 19.4
3. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot 9m 20.2

Leaders after SS16:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 33m 19.9
2. Sainz (E) Ford 3h 33m 30.3
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 2h 34m 15.3

SS17 Stiri 2 (3.70kms):
1. Sainz (E) Ford 1m 55.6
2. Burns (GB) Subaru 1m 55.9
3. McRae (GB) Ford 1m 56.0

Leaders after SS17:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 35m 15.9
2. Sainz (E) Ford 3h 35m 25.9
3. Burns (GB) Subaru 2h 36m 12.5

SS18 Gravia 2 (17.13kms):
1. Sainz (E) Ford 13m 03.2
2. Delecour (F) Ford 13m 05.5
3. McRae (GB) Ford 13m 05.7

Leaders after SS18:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 48m 21.6
2. Sainz (E) Ford 3h 48m 29.1
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 3h 49m 21.2

SS19 Amfiklia 2 (8.25kms):
1. Sainz (E) Ford 4m 49.2
2. Delecour (F) Ford 4m 49.5
3. McRae (GB) Ford 4m 50.8

Leaders after SS19:
1. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 53m 12.4
2. Sainz (E) Ford 3h 53m 18.3
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 3h 54m 13.9

SS20 Elatia-Rengini 2 (38.69km):
1. Mäkinen (FIN) Mitsubishi 25m 32.6
2. Delecour (F) Ford 25m 36.0
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 25m 37.0 .

Leaders in Itea after SS20:
1. C. McRae (GB) Ford 4h 19m 01.9
2. Solberg (N) Subaru +49.0
3. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot +1m 35.7
4. Makinen (FIN) Mitsubishi +2m 15.3
5. Delecour (F) Ford +2m 35.4
6. Bugalski (F) Citroen +4m 00.2
7. Schwarz (D) Skoda +5m 56.7
8. Jean-Joseph (F) Peugeot +7m 27.1
9. Loix (B) Mitsubishi +8m 00.9
10. Thiry (B) Skoda +8m 35.7

Group N leaders after SS20:
1. Pozzo (RA) Mitsubishi 4h 40m 17.9
2. Trelles (ROU)Mitsubishi +56.7
3. Ligato (RA) Mitsubishi +8m 31.9
4. Baldacci (RA) Mitsubishi +14m 54.3
5. Hatzitsopanis (GR) Mitsubishi +14m 53.0
6. Drivakos (GR) Subaru +25m 15.1

Super 1600 leaders after SS20:
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 5h 00 51.9
2. Dallavilla (I) Fiat +2m 35.9
3. Stenshorne (N) Ford +10m 20.7

Final rally statistics:

Event: The rally covered 1634.10km, including 387.63km on 20 special stages (including nine run twice). All stages were on gravel roads closed to the other traffic.
Starters: 115 cars (89 Group A + 26 Group N) started the rally
Finishers: 47 cars (37 Group A + 10 Group N) finished the rally
Stage Winners:
Sainz (SS9-11-17-18-19)
Burns (SS1-13-14-16)
Delecour (SS7-8-10-12)
Solberg (SS2-15)
McRae (SS4-6)
Martin (SS3)
Mäkinen (SS20)
SS5 was cancelled due to spectator congestion.

Rally Leaders:
SS1 Burns
SS2-SS5 Solberg
SS6-SS20 McRae

FIA World Championships (provisional standings after 7 of 14 rounds):

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers:
Mäkinen (FIN) & McRae (GB) 30, Sainz (E) 26, Burns (GB) 15, Rovanperä (FIN) 14, Delecour (F) 11, Auriol (F) 10, Solberg (N) 9, Loix (B) 7, Rådström (S) & Panizzi (F) 6, Gardemeister (FIN) 5, Grönholm 4, Schwarz (D) & Arai (J) 3, A. McRae (GB) & Hagstrom (FIN) & Bugalski (F) 1.

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers:
Ford 60, Mitsubishi 53, Subaru 28, Peugeot 20, Skoda 11, Hyundai 10.

FIA World Cup for Drivers of Production Cars:
Pozzo (RA) 37, Trelles (ROU) 26, Stohl (A) 12, Gillet (CH) & Walfridsson (S) & Da Silva 10, Blomqvist (S) 8, others.

FIA Teams Cup (after 4 of 6 rounds):
Hagstrom (FIN) & Lundgaard (DK) 20, Bakhashab (SA) 15, Papadimitriou (GR) 8, Barratt (GB) 7, Blomqvist (GB) & Al Wahaibi (OM) 6, Heath (GB) 4.

FIA Super 1600 Cup (after 2 of 6 rounds):
Loeb (F) 20, Dallavilla (I) 8, Stenshorne (N) 7, Basso (I) 6, Fontana (I) 4, Robert (F) 3, Magaud (F) 2, Chemin (I) & Ceccato (I) 1.

Next event: July 19-22- 2001: Kenya Safari Rally, Nairobi, Kenya.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin McRae and Nicky Grist celebrate victory in the Acropolis Rally.
Tommi Makinen, Toyota Gazoo Racing, WRC [Credit: WRC]
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Citroen Racing, WRC, [Credit: Citroen Racing WRC]
James Grint - Albatec Racing
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Nasser Al-Attiyah - MINI ALL4 Racing
Nasser Al-Attiyah - Mini ALL4 Racing
Petter Solberg celebrates at the 2007 Race of Champions
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.