Gronholm takes Cyprus win after McRae blows it.

François Delecour said: ''This has been a really hard rally for everyone, but it's a shame for us that we lost so much time on Friday and in the rain yesterday. Without the wipers and driveshaft problems we'd have been able to get into the same sort of position as the Skoda and the Hyundai, and that would have allowed us to possibly fight for a point when things went a bit crazy at the front of the field today. But again, we've learnt a lot and now we have to look forward to Argentina.''

His team-mate Alister McRae went out yesterday [Saturday] - he rolled the Lancer Evolution WRC on a slow corner in stage 8 and were then forced onto the sidelines with no drive in stage 11

Of the other entries Proton driver Karamjit Singh made a good start to his campaign in the World Championship for Drivers of Production Cars by winning the Group N category in Cyprus. Uruguayan Gustavo Trelles finished second in his Mitsubishi, while Italian Luca Baldini secured the final podium place, ahead of Bulgarian Dimitar Iliev.

Rally statistics - day three:

Starters: 33 cars (20 Group A and 13 Group N) started the rally

Retirements: Stohl (A)

Today - Sunday 21 April: Leg 3 started from Limassol at 08h00 and covered 309.12km, including 81.88km on six special stages.

Stage by stage summary - Leg three:

SS15 Vavatsinia (19.00kms)
1. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot 16m 34.9
2. Burns (GB) Peugeot 16m 35.6
3. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 16m 36.0

Leaders after SS15:
1. C. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 25m 39.1
2. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 3h 25m 52.7
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 3h 27m 15.3 29.0

SS16 Macheras (12.80kms):
1. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 10m 55.8
2. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot 10m 56.1
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 10m 57.5

Leaders after SS16:
1. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 3h 36m 51.5
2. C. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 36m 57.0
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 3h 38m 11.1

SS17 Lagei-Kalavasos (9.14kms):
1. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 7m 41.0
2. Burns (GB) Peugeot 7m 43.2
3. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 7m 43.4

Leaders after SS17:
1. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 3h 44m 34.9
2. C. McRae (GB) Ford 3h 45m 25.4
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 3h 45m 52.1

SS18 Vavtsinia 2 (19.00kms):
1. Solberg (N) Subaru 17m 02.1
2. Panizzi (F) Peugeot 17m 03.1
3. Gardemeister (FIN) Skoda 17m 07.3

Leaders after SS18:
1. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 4h 02m 00.5
2. Burns (GB) Peugeot 4h 03m 23.3
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 4h 03m 26.9

SS19 Macheras 2 (12.80kms):
1. Makinen (FIN) Subaru 11m 16.7
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 11m 17.1
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 11m 21.9

Leaders after SS19:
1. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 4h 13m 37.4
2. Makinen (FIN) Subaru 4h 14m 43.6
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 4h 14m 45.2

SS20 Lageia-Kalavasos 2 (9.14kms):
1. Burns (GB) Peugeot 7m 37.3
2. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot 7m 41.0
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru 7m 41.1

Leaderboard in Limassol after SS20:
1. Grönholm (FIN) Peugeot 4h 21m 25.7
2. Burns (GB) Peugeot +56.8
3. Mäkinen (FIN) Subaru +59.0
4. Rovanperä (FIN) Peugeot +1m 19.7
5. Solberg (N) Subaru +2m 17.9
6. C. McRae (GB) Ford +2m 45.5
7. Schwarz (D) Hyundai +2m 47.4
8. Martin (EE) Ford +4m 22.6
9. Eriksson (S) Skoda +7m 17.7
10. Panizzi (F) Peugeot +8m 12.2

Production Cars WRC leaderboard in Limassol after SS20:
1. Singh (MAL) Proton 4h 52m 17.9
2. Trelles (ROU)Mitsubishi +5m 41.5
3. Baldini (I) Mitsubishi +6m 52.8
4. Iliev (BG) Mitsubishi +7m 48.1
5. Girdauskas (LT) Mitsubishi +10m 50.6
6. Kollevold (N) Mitsubishi +18m 19.4

Final Rally statistics:

Event: The rally covered 1306.21km, including 324.17km on 20 special stages (including eight run twice and one run three times). All stages were on gravel roads closed to other traffic.

Starters: 60 cars (31 Group A and 29 Group N) started the rally.

Finishers: 32 cars (19 Group A and 13 Group N) finished the rally.

Stage winners:
Solberg (SS4-10-11-12-13-18)
Mäkinen (SS5-9-16-17-19)
C. McRae (SS1-6)
Sainz (SS7-8)
Duval (SS2)
Martin (SS3)
Rovanperä (SS15)
Burns (SS20)
SS14 was cancelled due to poor road conditions

Rally leaders:
C. McRae (SS1)
Duval (SS2)
Martin (SS3)
C. McRae (SS4-SS15)
Grönholm (SS16-SS20)

FIA World Rally Championships:

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 5 of 14 rounds): Grönholm (FIN) 31, Panizzi (F) 20, Burns (GB) 19, Mäkinen (FIN) 14,
Rovanperä (FIN) 9, Sainz (E) 9, Bugalski (F) 7, Solberg (N) 7,
Loeb (F) 6, C. McRae (GB) 6, A. McRae (GB) 2.

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 5 of 14 rounds): Peugeot 68, Subaru 27, Ford 27, Mitsubishi 6, Hyundai 2, Skoda 0.

FIA Junior World Rally Championship (after 2 of 6 rounds, this event not counting): Duval (B) 11, Sola (E) 10, Caldani (I) 6, Dallavilla (I) 6, Basso (I) 4, Feghali (RL) 4, Carlsson (S) 3, Galli (I) 3, Doppelreiter (A) 2, Tuohino (FIN) 2, Schelle (D) 1.

FIA Production Car World Championship (after 3 of 8 rounds): Sohlberg (FIN) 10, Ferreyros (PE) 10, Singh (MAL) 10, Iliev (BG) 9, Trelles (ROU) 9, Arai (J) 6, others.

Next event: May 16-19, 2002: Rally Argentina, Cordoba, Argentina.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Cyprus Rally winners [2002] - Marcus Gronholm and Timo Rautiainen [Peugeot 206 WRC]
James Grint - Albatec Racing
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Nasser Al-Attiyah - MINI ALL4 Racing
Nasser Al-Attiyah - Mini ALL4 Racing
Petter Solberg celebrates at the 2007 Race of Champions
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)
Bjorn Waldegard [Pic credit: Race Retro / www.historicmotorsportshow.com]
Yazeed Al Rajhi, Michal Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC, #31 Yazeed Racing)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.