Peugeot's traumatic Rally of Argentina continued after the event had officially finished last night, when scrutineers determined that Richard Burns' first win for the French manufacturer could not stand.

At post-event scrutineering, the world champion's car was deemed not to conform to the homologation form and, as a consequence, the crew has been excluded from the results. Peugeot Sport has already confirmed that it will not be appealing against the decision.

The winner of the rally is now Ford's Carlos Sainz, who now equals Tommi Makinen's record of 24 WRC victories. The Spaniard becomes the third driver in less than 24 hours to hold the apparently poisoned chalice as Argentine winner, after Burns inherited the honour from Peugeot team-mate Marcus Gronholm, who was excluded for illegal servicing immediately after the event.

Rally Argentina - Revised Final Results

1. Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya Ford 4hr 08min 09.1sec
2. Petter Solberg/Phil Mills Subaru 4hr 08min 13.1sec
3. Colin McRae/Nicky Grist Ford 4hr 10min 28.2sec
4. Markko Martin/Michael Park Ford 4hr 11min 01.5sec
5. Toni Gardemeister/Paavo Lukander Skoda 4hr 13min 27.9sec
6. Kenneth Eriksson/Tina Thorner Skoda 4hr 14min 25.7sec

7. Juha Kankkunen/Juha Repo Hyundai 4hr 16min 12.4sec
8. Alister McRae/David Senior Mitsubishi 4hr 16min 58.7sec
9. Gabriel Pozzo/Daniel Luis Stillo Skoda 4hr 22min 08.0sec
10. Ramon Ferreyros/Diego Vallego Mitsubishi (GpN) 4hr 32min 27.6sec

2002 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers - revised standings

1. Marcus Gronholm Peugeot 31 points
2. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 20
3. Richard Burns Peugeot 19
= Carlos Sainz Ford 19
5. Tommi Makinen Subaru 14
6. Petter Solberg Subaru 13
7. Colin McRae Ford 10
8. Harri Rovanpera Peugeot 9
9. Philippe Bugalski Citroen 7
10. Sebastien Loeb Citroen 6
11. Markko Martin Ford 3
12. Alister McRae Mitsubishi 2
= Toni Gardemeister Skoda 2
14. Kenneth Eriksson Skoda 1

2002 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers - revised standings

1. Peugeot 68 points
2. Ford 41
3. Subaru 33
4. Mitsubishi 6
5. Skoda 5
6. Hyundai 3