Loeb on top in Australia after day one.

Auriol said: "It's quite hard to judge the roads, some of the time you think the grip is going to be there and you find it really slippery, quite dangerous, but then other times it's okay and the car can be quite safe. We had some oversteer on the second loop of stages, so we're going to have a look at the changes to the diff we made earlier today."

Gardemeister said: "I'm going slowly, slowly. No chances. On the dry roads everything is okay, but when it is getting wet, it's a little bit harder to drive with my arm. I'm not getting any pain from my arm, but obviously I can't drive the same way. A lot of the time I am just using one arm with the car and not putting any pressure on with the other arm."

At Hyundai Armin Schwarz's Accent WRC suffered handling problems on the opening leg, while Freddy Loix's car ran without mechanical fault.

Loix battled for position in the lower reaches of the top ten. Schwarz didn't enjoy the day's stages, lacking confidence in what his car would do. The German ended the leg on the fringes of the top ten, while Loix was ninth.

Schwarz said: "The car is very difficult to drive, very hard work. The transmission is not right, the rear differential is taking a lot of pressure, but it's still not locking. The car is floating, it almost feels like we have the rear wheels steering the car. The team lowered the car for the second loop of stages, which helped the problem."

Loix added: "Our car was working better in the damper conditions this morning. But we haven't had any big problems today."

Of the other entries Marcos Ligato led the FIA Production Car World Rally Championship standings all day until a spin in SS10 - the final test, dropped him down to fourth. Martin Rowe thus inherited the lead, with Niall McShea moving up to second and Karamjit Singh to third.

Rally statistics:

Starters: 49 crews (19 Group A and 30 Group N) started this morning.

Retirements: Gronholm (FIN), Benik (H), Ferreyros (PE), Aur (RO),and 6 other driver.

Today - Friday 5 September: Leg 1 restarted from Perth at 06h00 and covered 805.42km, including 145.20km on nine stages. The first car arrived back in Perth at 20h40.

Tomorrow - Saturday 6 September: Leg 2 starts from Perth at 07h30 and covers 515.13km, including 124.00km on ten stages. The first car is expected to arrive back in Perth at 19h58.

Weather forecast: Expected to remain dry, but cloudy with occasional sunshine.

Stage by stage summary - Leg 2:

SS1 Perth City Super 1 (2.45km)#:
1. Solberg (N) Subaru 1m 31.9
2. Sainz (E) Citroen 1m 32.2
3. Martin (EE) Ford 1m 32.6

# Run yesterday.

SS2 Murray North 1 (18.49km):
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 10m 29.1
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 10m 31.5
3. Martin (EE) Ford 10m 35.5

Leaders after SS2:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 12m 02.3
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 12m 03.4
3. Martin (EE) Ford 12m 08.1

SS3 Murray South 1 (20.12km):
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 11m 51.8
2. Sainz (E) Citroen 12m 00.9
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 12m 01.5

Leaders after SS3:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 23m 54.1
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 24m 04.9
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 24m 17.2

SS4 Gobbys (5.20km):
1. Martin (EE) Ford 2m 29.6
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 2m 31.2
3. Hirvonen (FIN) Ford 2m 31.4

Leaders after SS4:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 26m 25.8
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 26m 36.1
3. Loeb (F) Citroen 26m 50.7

SS5 Stirling West (15.89km):
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 9m 15.3
2. Solberg (N) Peugeot 9m 15.8
3. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 9m 17.5

Leaders after SS5:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 35m 43.3
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 35m 51.9
3. Loeb (F) Citroen 36m 06.0

SS6 Stirling Long (34.99km):
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 20m 02.1
2. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 20m 10.1
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 20m 19.7

Leaders after SS6:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 55m 53.4
2. Loeb (F) Citroen 56m 08.1
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 56m 13.9

SS7 Turner Hill (7.00km):
1. Solberg (N) Subaru 4m 22.2
2. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 4m 24.5
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 4m 25.4

Leaders after SS7:
1. Gronholm (FIN) Peugeot 1h 00m 17.9
2. Loeb (F) Citroen 1h 00m 34.0
3. Solberg (N) Subaru 1h 00m 36.1

SS8 Murray North 2 (18.49km):
1. Solberg (N) Subaru 10m 14.4
= Loeb (F) Citroen 10m 14.4
3. Martin (EE) Ford 10m 15.3

Leaders after SS8:
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 1h 10m 48.4
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 1h 10m 49.3
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 1h 11m 16.6

SS9 Murray South 2 (20.12km):
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 11m 30.0
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 11m 33.1
3. Martin (EE) Ford 11m 35.7

Leaders after SS9:
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 1h 22m 18.4
2. Solberg (N) Subaru 1h 22m 22.4
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot 1h 22m 57.0

SS10 Perth City Super 2 (2.45km):
1. Duval (B) Ford 1m 33.5
2. Martin (EE) Ford 1m 33.7
= Makinen (FIN) Subaru 1m 33.7
4. Solberg (N) Subaru 1m 33.9

Leaders after SS10 / Leg 1:
1. Loeb (F) Citroen 1h 23m 52.4
2. Solberg (N) Subaru +3.9
3. Burns (GB) Peugeot +39.1
4. Makinen (FIN) Subaru +1m 00.2
5. Martin (EE) Ford +1m 05.0
6. Sainz (E) Citroen +1m 12.6
7. McRae (GB) Citroen +1m 25.0
8. Rovanpera (FIN) Peugeot +1m 52.9
9. Loix (B) Hyundai +2m 41.6
10. Auriol (F) Skoda +2m 52.7

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb / Daniel Elena - Citroen Xsara WRC
Petter Solberg / Phil Mills - Subaru Impreza WRC
Marcus Gronholm / Timo Rautiainen - Peugeot 206 WRC
Killarney circuit in South Africa will host a round of the World Rallycross series
Citroen C3 WRC 2017, [Credit: Citroen Racing media]
Kajetan Kajetanowicz, ERC, [Credit: European Rally Championship]
Ralfs Sirmacis - Skoda Fabia
Sven Smeets named new VW motorsport director [Pic credit: VW]
Jan Kopecky. Barum Czech Rally Zlin [Pic credit: ERC]
Jan Kopecky. Barum Czech Rally Zlin [Pic credit: ERC]
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Dani Sordo (ESP)-Marc Marti (ESP), Hyundai New i20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.