Loeb breaks Nordic domination.

In the Production Car World Rally Championship category Jani Paasonen took the opening round honours in his Mitsubishi Lancer. The Finn had controlled the pace in the Group N-based series from the outset, although he was concerned by an engine fault, which was developing over the final leg.

Britain's Alister McRae returned to the world championship and took second place in the Production Car standings at the wheel of a Subaru Impreza, while Daniel Sola completed the top three.

Swedish racing driver Matthias Ekstrom won the Group N category overall, taking a comfortable victory at the wheel of his Mitsubishi Lancer.

The WRC now moves to North America next month for the eagerly anticipated third round of the FIA World Rally Championship - Rally Mexico. Starting on Thursday 11 March the brand new three-day gravel event will be based around a single service park in the host town of Leon. Crews will contest a mixture of mountainous gravel roads and a competitive distance of 394.43 kilometres, over three Legs and 15 stages. The longest stage will be the Ibarilla - Mesa test at 30.47km, and the shortest the 15.42km Derramadero stage.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Citroen`s Sebastien Loeb and co-driver Daniel Elena celebrate their historic victory on the Swedish Rally, which broke the Nordic domination of the event
Citroen celebrate in Sweden after Sebastien Loeb`s victory
Swedish Rally winners, Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena [Citroen] on the podium with Marcus Gronholm and Timo Rautianen [2nd] and Petter Solberg and Phil Mills [3rd]
Alexey Lukyanuk - Ford Fiesta R5
Alexey Lukyanuk - Ford Fiesta R5
Pierre Louis Loubet (FRA) - Vincent Landais (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Pierre Louis Loubet (FRA) - Vincent Landais (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Karl Kruuda (EST) - Martin Jarveoja (EST) Ford Fiesta R5, Drive Dmack Trophy Team
Scott Pedder (AUS) Dale Moscatt (AUS), Skoda Fabia R5
Scott Pedder (AUS) Dale Moscatt (AUS), Skoda Fabia R5
Scott Pedder (AUS) Dale Moscatt (AUS), Skoda Fabia R5
Essapeka Lappi (FIN) Janne Ferm (FIN), Skoda Fabia R5 WRC2, Skoda Motorsport
Quentin Gilbert  (FRA) - Renaud Jamoul (BEL) Citroen DS3 R5
Lorenzo Bertelli (ITA)-Simone Scattolin (ITA) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, FWRT
Lorenzo Bertelli (ITA)-Simone Scattolin (ITA) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, FWRT
Teemu Suninen (FIN) - Mikko Markkula (FIN) Skoda Fabia R5, Team Oreca
Nicolás Fuchs (PER) - Fernando Mussano (ARG) Skoda Fabia R5

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.