Solberg and Gronholm head-to-head.

"Eight kilometres into stage 13 we started to have a problem with the gearbox and then just before the finish the front left drive-shaft broke," he explained. "I don't remember feeling us hit anything, but it was after cutting a corner, so maybe this could have been the problem."

Of the remaining works drivers, Daniel Carlsson and Chris Atkinson round out the top ten, while Janne Tuohino is eleventh, best of the Skoda drivers, with his team-mates, Janni Paasonen and Mattias Ekstrom, 13th and 16th respectively.

Ekstrom had been running eighth, however he lost power steering mid-way through SS12 and had to struggle for two more stages, something that lost him a lot of time – around 3mins 30secs.

"I'm really disappointed about the power steering problem because I was just concentrating on driving my own rally and staying on the road," said the DTM champ. "It is impossible to drive one of these cars at anything more than walking speed when that happens - now I understand why other WRC drivers complain so much when I see them on television!"

Francois Duval is 15th in the second Citroen, after hitting a boulder in SS11, while Stephane Sarrazin is the last of the work entries, in 17th.

Thus far there have still be no works retirements.

In the Production Car WRC category, Toshi Arai continues to lead, nearly two minutes up on his nearest rival, Aki Teiskonen.

Arai for the record is also second overall in the Group N class, around 50 seconds behind Jukka Ketomaki.

The final leg tomorrow [Sunday] comprises two identical loops of three stages near Hagfors, and includes the most southerly test of the event. Organisers have shortened the first test of each loop from 22.33km to 10.17km for safety reasons.

Drivers leave Karlstad at 05.40 and return to the city for the finish at 15.04 after 89.54km of competition.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Petter Solberg / Phil Mills - Subaru Impreza WRC04
Petter Solberg talks to the media at the Swedish Rally
Marcus Gronholm / Timo Rautiainen - Peugeot 307 WRC
Davy Jeanney and Timmy Hansen, Team Peugeot-Hansen, WRX [Credit: WRX]
Craig Breen and his Peugeot Academy team celebrate on Circuit of Ireland podium   [pic credit: ERC]
Craig Breen - Peugeot Rally Academy 208T16   [pic credit: ERC]
Craig Breen (IRE), Peugeot, FIA ERC [Credit: ERC PR]
James Grint - Albatec Racing
Junior ERC: Chris Ingram, Peugeot UK [Credit: Chris Ingram Rally]
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Petter Solberg, James May, Top Gear [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Charciossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2nd place, Mads Ostberg, Jonas Andersson (Citroen DS3 WRC, #4 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.