Loeb in a league of his own in Sardinia.

"It's been a good day, and I hope it will get even better tomorrow," continued Marcus. "I've had a good feeling with the car and the tyres, although these stages do not get any easier! The car has been entirely reliable and I have had enough confidence to push hard. In many ways this makes me regret my accident of yesterday: without that I think we could have been pushing for victory."

Toni Gardemeister had been in the thick of the battle for the final spot on the podium too, but oil pressure problems on the final test forced him to pull out. He now overnights in eighth, one place behind his team-mate, Roman Kresta, while Mark Higgins is sixth in a privateer Focus.

"We didn't want to risk destroying Toni's engine so we retired him from the leg in the last stage," explained team boss, Malcolm Wilson. "We will bring the car back to the service park and look at the data. Hopefully we can fix everything tonight and he will be able to start the final leg tomorrow."

Juuso Pykalisto and Antony Warmbold round out the top ten, while works drivers' Janne Tuohino and Stephane Sarrazin are 12th and 13th, with Francois Duval 14th. Duval re-started today under the SupeRally regulations and both Tuohino and Sarrazin will do the same tomorrow, having stopped in the final test.

Armin Schwarz is 16th, the lead Skoda driver having had clutch problems in SS11, while Chris Atkinson clobbered another rock in SS8. They will also take advantage of the SupeRally format tomorrow, providing their mechanics can fix their cars.

Gigi Galli is still running in the second works Mitsubishi, the Italian though had a series of problems and as a consequence is way down the pack, 47th overall. His stage win in SS9, showed though that if the car had been reliable then he could have been right up there with Rovanpera.

Overall it was a day of attrition with 26 cars going out. In addition to the works drivers mentioned, Mikko Hirvonen, third overnight went out on the first test of the day after taking two wheels off his Focus, while Xavier Pons also crashed in the same stage, blocking the road and delaying proceedings by around 45 minutes. The drivers' behind him were given notional times.

In the Junior WRC its all change, overnight leader, Kosti Katajamaki has dropped down to third, while Daniel Sordo leads in the Citroen C2, ahead of Suzuki's Urmo Aava.

Brit Kris Meeke had been on course for the win, to add to that notched up back in January at Monte Carlo, however he hit problems in the last stage, and assuming he can re-start, will do so from fourth position overall.

The final leg tomorrow [Sunday] is the shortest of the rally. It contains just 66.32km of competition, divided into two loops of three stages west of Olbia, two of the tests based on the slopes around the historic town of Tempio Pausania. Competitors leave Olbia at 06.30 and reach the finish ceremony in the exclusive holiday resort of Porto Rotondo at 14.30.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb / Daniel Elena - Citroen Xsara WRC
Sebastien Loeb - Citroen
Citroen mechanics work on the Xsara WRC of Sebastien Loeb
Sebastien Ogier, Volkswagen Motorsport, [Credit: Volkswagen Motorsport]
Jan Kopecky / Pavel Dresler test the new Fabia R5 in Italy [Pic credit: Skoda]
Stephane Lefebvre (FRA) Stephane Prevot (BEL), Citroen ds3 r5
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN) Kaj Lindstrom (FIN), Ford Fiesta R5, WRC2 winners
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Mateo Chiarcossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza, WRC2 Production Cup winners
Ole-Christian Veiby (NOR) Anders Jaeger (NOR), Citroen Ds3 R3, WRC3 Winners
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Podium, winners Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport), 2n place Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC, #7 Hyundai Motorsport) and 3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.