Loeb makes it five in a row with Sardinia triumph.

Kronos Citroen team leader, Sebastien Loeb has won the Rally d'Italia Sardegna, the seventh round in the 2006 FIA World Rally Championship, to take his fifth win in succession.

Although the Frenchman lost out on day one when he had to run first on the road, sweeping away the loose gravel, something that meant he ended the first leg more than 30 seconds off Marcus Gronholm, he inherited the lead on the second stage on Saturday, when the Ford driver hit a rock and was forced out. After that Loeb was in a class of his own and was never under any pressure, except to get the car to the finish and avoid making a mistake. At the finish he was more than 2.5 minutes up on his nearest rival, after yet another dominant display.

Loeb's only real scare came on Saturday, when he hit the same rock that claimed Gronholm, the Frenchman though suffered no damage and continued on his way, to win the event for the second year running.

The result further extends his lead in the drivers' championship - from 21 points to 31, while Daniel Elena, Loeb's co-driver, is now the most successful co-pilot in the history of WRC in terms of event wins, with 25 victories to his name. Loeb meanwhile is just one short of equally the record held by Carlos Sainz, who won 26 WRC events during his time in the sport.

Mikko Hirvonen meanwhile took the runners-up spot, some consolation for Ford after Gronholm's demise. Hirvonen took it easy on the final day in order to make sure he took second, his best result of the season and also incidentally the best of his career to date.

Daniel Sordo and Xavier Pons gave Kronos even more to cheer about by taking third and fourth respectively, the former again shining in the Xsara and notching up his third 'senior' podium since graduating from the Junior WRC. Sordo's podium, on only his third outing with the car on gravel was remarkable, especially as he has more experience on asphalt. Pons also went well and in finishing fourth, secured 6 manufacturers' points for the Belgian team, as Sordo was not nominated. Kronos therefore increased their lead in the manufacturers', from 12 points to 20.

Further-down the order, Jussi Valimaki was fifth in his privately entered Mitsubishi, while Kristian Sohlberg took sixth, on his second WRC outing with the Red Devil Atoyle Kazaz outfit.

OMV Peugeot's Manfred Stohl ended up picking up two points in the drivers' championship, despite not being happy with his 307 for most of the event, while First Motorsport's Francois Duval took eighth and the final drivers' point, the best placed of the Skoda's.

The works Subaru's of Petter Solberg and Chris Atkinson ended up ninth and tenth, after a disastrous final stage, which saw both drivers' hit problems, the former slipping from seventh to ninth after he bent a steering arm, while Atkinson lost five places after going off the road, when he missed his braking point. The impact damaged the Impreza's front-left suspension and Atkinson stopped by the side of the road. Under the FIA SupeRally regulations though, the Aussie was still classified tenth, picking up a 5 minute penalty for failing to complete the final test.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb / Daniel Elena - Kronos Citroen Xsara WRC
Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena celebrate their victory on the Rally d`Italia Sardegna
Rally d`Italia Sardegna winners, Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena on the podium with Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen [2nd] and Daniel Sordo and Marc Marti [3rd]
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Citroen driver line-up
Sergio Marchetti (ITA)  Giulia  Cresta (ITA) Renault Clio R3
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Alessandro Re (ITA) Giacomo Suci (ITA), Citroen Ds3
Simone Tempestini (ROM), Matteo Chiarcissi (ITA), Citroen Ds3 R3
Simone Tempestini (ROM), Matteo Chiarcissi (ITA), Citroen Ds3 R3
Alessandro Re (ITA) Giacomo Suci (ITA), Citroen Ds3
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MC), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.