Germany - leg 3: Loeb does it again.

Latvala's perseverance paid off and while his pace was a bit disappointing, especially in light of how he has gone recently on some of the other events, he was still happy with a point – his first WRC point on an asphalt event.

Britain's Matthew Wilson and Guy Wilks completed the top ten, while Henning Solberg was slightly further down the order, but still picked up two manufacturers' points. Henning retired on both day 1 and day 2, but got to the end thanks to the SupeRally format.

BP Ford 'third' driver, Khalid Al-Qassimi also finished thanks to the SupeRally, while Chris Atkinson took the final manufacturers point and was classified in 15th, despite crashing out and hitting a wall in SS16.

Subaru third driver, Xavier Pons also had problem on the last day, he went out on the stage before Atkinson, with engine problems. He was classified in 18th.

Citroen's Dani Sordo and OMV Kronos' Manfred Stohl were the two big retirements – both sidelined with engine problems, Sordo on day 1 and Stohl on day 2.

In the Junior Rally Championship category, Martin Prokop dominated in his Citroen C2 Super 1600, leading from start-to-finish. He eventually beat Urmo Aava by just under 50 seconds, although the Estonian's second place is enough to lift him into the lead in the JRC standings, ahead of his Suzuki Swift team-mate, Per-Gunnar Andersson, who had to sit out this event after picking up a one-month driving ban in his native country.

Conrad Rautenbach completed the JRC podium, followed by Aaron Burkart and Jozef Beres.

Reigning Junior champion, Patrik Sandell did not finish after he was excluded for receiving outside assistance at the end of day 1. He had finished the first leg in fifth place overall in his Renault Clio.

The FIA World Rally Championship now continues in two weeks time, when teams and drivers' head to the other side of the world for Rally New Zealand, which runs from August 31 to September 2.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) / Daniel Elena (MC), Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC. Rallye Deutschland, 17-19th August 2007.
Francois Duval (BEL) /  Patrik Pivato (BEL), OMV Kronos WRT Citroen Xsara WRC. Rallye Deutschland, 17-19th August 2007.
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) / Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN), BP Ford Focus RS WRC 07. Rallye Deutschland, 17-19th August 2007.
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.