France - day 3: Home win puts Loeb on verge.

Per-Gunnar Andersson did not fare so well in the other SX4 WRC and finished under the SupeRally in 17th after going out in SS11. Conrad Rautenbach, Henning Solberg and Gareth Jones filled the three spaces between the Suzuki men.

Citroen's Dani Sordo and Subaru 'third' driver Brice Tirabasi were the two major retirements - the former crashed out on day 1 in SS3, while Tirabassi was forced out on the final day with mechanical problems.

In the Junior World Rally Championship category, Martin Prokop came through to take his third win of the season. The Czech led for most of the event and while he did lose the lead to 'wild card' runner Pierre Campana in the final stage on day 1, he re-took the position on Saturday morning. After that he was never really threatened.

Campana ended up taking the final spot on the podium, having slipped behind 2008 J-WRC champion, Sebastien Ogier in the last test.

Having thrown away an almost certain victory in Spain, Ogier opted for a cautious approach this weekend and drove with his head to make sure he picked up sufficient points to take the Junior title. In the end he did so with ease.

Of the other J-WRC runners Pierre Marche was fourth, followed by Aaron Burkart in fifth, Patrik Sandell in sixth and Florian Niegel in seventh. Kevin Abbring took the final J-WRC point in eighth.

The World Rally Championship now continues in two weeks time when the series returns to gravel for the penultimate event, the Rally Japan. The event, which runs from October 30 to November 2, is again based on the country's northernmost island of Hokkaido – but it has a new base in Sapporo and an entirely new route.

Despite Ford's tactics in Corsica, Japan is likely to be an historic event, as Loeb has an extremely good chance of taking that record fifth title in the 'Land of the Rising Sun'...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Podium, Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroen C4, Citroen Total World Rally Team
Podium, Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroen C4, Citroen Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroen C4, Citroen Total World Rally Team
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.