Loeb heads home Citroen 1-2 in Ireland

Behind Hirvonen, Henning Solberg and Chris Atkinson enjoyed a good squabble for fourth. Henning looked to have lost the place this morning when Atkinson pulled in front and inched away.

The Aussie made a mistake in SS18 though and lost around a minute, when he went off the road in his Citroen Junior Team-run C4 WRC. That handed the position back to Henning, who was delighted with the result and declared that this was probably one of his best ever rallies.

2008 Junior World Rally champion, Sebastien Ogier rounded out the top six, albeit over 3.5 minutes off the battle for P4. Ogier struggled a bit on the first loop on Friday and then lost around 2 minutes on the first stage on Saturday, when he went off the road in his C4 WRC. Apart from that though the Frenchman was again impressive posting twelve top-eight times, including two fourths.

Britain's Matthew Wilson was next up and 30 seconds off Ogier, while Khalid Al-Qassimi took eighth and the final point - his first at this level - in the 'third' BP Ford Abu Dhabi WRT Focus RS WRC08.

Further down the order current Irish Tarmac Rally champion, Eamonn Boland was ninth, the top local star, followed by Urmo Aava.

Aava led early on and looked set for a good result on his debut with the Stobart Ford team until a mistake in SS6 when he went off the road. He re-started on day two and hauled himself up from 18th to tenth.

Fellow Ford runner, Jari-Matti Latvala and Conrad Rautenbach also had problems and utilised the SupeRally rule to finish, coming home 14th and 18th respectively. Jari-Matti made a great start and took the lead in SS1, before going off in SS2. Rautenbach also went off, but on day two, in SS9. He had been in fifth.

Of the rest Aaron MacHale, Tim McNulty and Shaun Gallagher came in 11th, 12th and 13th, the latter taking the Group N win, while Gary Jennings was 15th, 40 seconds behind Latvala, followed by Aaron Burkart.

Burkart, who has switched to using a Suzuki Swift S1600 this year, finished 47 seconds up on Martin Prokop to claim his maiden win in the Junior World Rally Championshp. The German had been engaged in a close battle with Hans Weijs Jr. But Hans crashed out in the final stage on Saturday and hit a tree.

Other permanent retirees included Gareth MacHale, who had been in the points, until mechanical problems slowed him late on day two.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën C4, Citroën Total World Rally Team

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.