Loix wins sixth Ypres Rally title

"We again have a one-two for Skoda and showed what a good car we have," the Czech commented, "Freddy did a very good job, so congratulations to him, but the championship is closer now and Azores is coming next where we will do our best."

Thierry Neuville took a career-best third in his Kronos Racing-run Team Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg 207. The young Belgian showed a level of maturity that belied his 22 years, and rarely made a mistake as he adhered to team orders by reducing his pace to ensure a podium finish. His performance, which elevates him to sixth in the standings, provided some cheer for the Kronos squad, which lost the cars of Meeke and Belgian championship leader Pieter Tsjoen in separate accidents.

Belgian Bernd Casier was a solid fourth overall in his Skoda Fabia, with Andreas Mikkelsen fifth in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000. The Norwegian was delayed by a puncture on Friday's second stage, but gradually climbed the leaderboard throughout Saturday to bag his first IRC points and finish as the highest-placed Ypres Rally rookie.

Veteran Patrick Snijers was keeping the charging Bruno Magalhaes at bay, and seemingly certain of sixth place in his 207, only to retire on the final stage with a technical fault. Magalhaes was pushing hard in his efforts to lessen the impact of a 1min 10secs time penalty imposed for twice leaving service late due to a gearbox problem, and was rewarded with sixth place when Snijers retired.

Poland's Michal Solowow overcame a puncture on the final stage to claim seventh in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000, with Luca Betti eighth and rounding out the point scorers after also falling victim to a deflated tyre on the last run.

Dutch youngster Kevin Abbring won the IRC 2WD Cup in his Clio R3, one place ahead of Corsican Pierre Campana, who now leads the two-wheel drive standings in his similar car, despite a slow puncture on the penultimate stage. Kris Princen had led the class only to drop out of Friday's first leg with alternator failure.

Geko Ypres Rally - Top 10 after Leg Two:

1. Freddy Loix/Frederic Miclotte Skoda Fabia S2000 2h35m36.9s
2. Jan Kopecky/Petr Stary Skoda Fabia S2000 +22.1s
3. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Klinger Peugeot 207 S2000 +2m05.5s
4. Bernd Casier/Francis Caesemaeker Skoda Fabia S2000 +4m06.1s
5. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +5m20.9s
6. Bruno Magalhaes/Carlos Magalhaes Peugeot 207 S2000 +6m06.2s
7. Michal Solowow/Maciej Baran M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +7m24.5s
8. Luca Betti/Pierangelo Scalvini Peugeot 207 S2000 +9m37.6s
9. Corrado Fontana/Nicola Arena Peugeot 207 S2000 +9m53.0s
10. Maciej Oleksowicz/Andrzej Obrebowski M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +10m39.0s

IRC standings (after round six of 12)

1. Juho Hanninen 42pts
2. Jan Kopecky 39pts
3. Guy Wilks 25pts
4. Bruno Magalhaes 20pts
5. Kris Meeke 15pts
6. Thierry Neuville 11pts
7. Mikko Hirvonen 10pts
= Freddy Loix 10pts
9. Paolo Andreucci 8pts
10. Nicolas Vouilloz 6pts

IRC Manufacturers standings (after round six of 12)
1. Skoda 98pts
2. Peugeot 55pts
3. M-Sport 21pts
4. Subaru 10pts
5. Ralliart 8pts

Tagged as: IRC , Ypres , Belgium , Skoda , Freddy Loix

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Fredy Loix - Skoda Fabia S2000  [pic credit: IRC]
Skoda Fabia R 5 (CZE), Skoda motorsport [Credit: Skoda motorsport]
Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm test the new Fabia R5 [Pic credit: Skoda]
Jan Kopecky / Pavel Dresler test the new Fabia R5 in Italy [Pic credit: Skoda]
Armin Kremer (GER) Klaus Wicha (GER), Skoda Fabia S2000
Armin Kremer (GER) Klaus Wicha (GER), Skoda Fabia S2000
Sepp Wiegand /Frank Christian. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye International du Valais (Switzerland) [Pic credit: ERC]
Esapekka Lappi /Janne Ferm. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye International du Valais (Switzerland) [Pic credit: ERC]
Esapekka Lappi /Janne Ferm. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye International du Valais (Switzerland) [Pic credit: ERC]
Esapekka Lappi. Skoda Motorsport Fabia Super 2000. Rallye International du Valais. Switzerland
Jimmy McRae presents the Geko Ypres Rally 2014 Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy to Kevin Abbring [Pic credit: ERC]
Sepp Wiegand. Skoda Fabia S2000. Geko Ypres Rally 2014 [Pic credit: ERC]
Cédric Cherain. Ford Fiesta R5. Geko Ypres Rally  2014 [Pic credit: ERC]
Freddy Loix. Skoda Fabia S2000. Geko Ypres Rally  2014 [Pic credit: ERC]
Freddy Loix. Skoda Fabia S2000. Geko Ypres Rally  2014 [Pic credit: ERC]
Kevin Abbring. Peugeot 208 T16. Geko Ypres Rally  2014 [Pic credit: ERC]
Esapekka Lappi and Skoda celebrate in Ireland
Esapekka Lappi - Skoda

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.