IRC: Kopecky takes dramatic Zlin victory

In the fight for the IRC Production Cup, Jaroslav Orsak, in a Ralliart Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX R4, triumphed by a healthy margin over Subaru Impreza driver Daniel Behalek. Martin Bujacek finished third in a Lancer with Vaclav Arazim next up in another Lancer. Vaclav Pech had been leading the class when he dropped out with suspension failure on stage six. He returned under SupeRally regulations on Sunday. Fumio Nutahara, in his Yokohama-supported Impreza R4, crashed into retirement on stage five.

Stefano Albertini shone on his Zlin debut to clinch IRC 2WD Cup spoils for the first time in his Clio R3. The young Italian edged Czech rising star Vaclav Dunovsky, who struggled with rear suspension problems for much of the event in his Ignis. Jean-Michel Raoux boosted his IRC 2WD Cup title hopes in third position after overcoming an exhaust failure on his Clio. Overnight leader Petr Zednik, in an M-Sport Fiesta, dropped back to fourth following intercom and engine problems on the final day. Martin Kangur was the leading Honda Civic finisher in sixth place.

The 2011 Intercontinental Rally Challenge now continues next month with the Canon Mecsek Rallye in Hungary, which runs from 9-11 September.

Barum Czech Rally Zlin - Top ten IRC positions (after day two):

1. Jan Kopecky/Petr Stary Skoda Fabia S2000 2h15m51.7s
2. Freddy Loix/Frederic Miclotte Skoda Fabia S2000 +1.2s
3. Juho Hanninen/Mikko Markkula Skoda Fabia S2000 +37.4s
4. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m59.6s
5. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene Skoda Fabia S2000 +2m05.7s
6. Toni Gardemeister/Tapio Suominen Skoda Fabia S2000 +3m43.2s
7. Craig Breen/Gareth Roberts M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +3m47.4s
8. Roman Kresta/Petr Gross Skoda Fabia S2000 +4m21.5s
9. PG Andersson/Emil Axelsson Proton Satria Neo S2000 +4m41.1s
10. Karl Kruuda/Martin Jarveoja Skoda Fabia S2000 +4m54.4s

IRC Production Cup: Jaroslav Orsak/Karel Vajik (Ralliart Lancer Evo IX R4)
IRC 2WD Cup: Stefano Alberto/Simone Scattolin (Renault Clio R3)

IRC Drivers' standings (after round 7 of 11) – Top 10:

1. Juho Hanninen 98pts
2. Jan Kopecky 95pts
3. Freddy Loix 88pts
4. Bryan Bouffier 61pts
5. Thierry Neuville 60pts
6. Andreas Mikkelsen 58pts
7. Guy Wilks 47pts
8. Toni Gardemeister 28pts
9. Hans Weijs 18pts
10. Karl Kruuda 15pts
= Michal Solowow 15pts

Manufacturers' standings (after round 7 of 11):

1. Skoda 275pts
2. Peugeot 184pts
3. M-Sport 70pts
4. Subaru 51pts
5. Ralliart 49pts
6. PROTON 33pts
7. Honda 28pts
8. Abarth 14pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jan Kopecky - Skoda
Skoda`s Jan Kopecky wins the Barum Czech Rally Zlin [Pic credit: IRC]
Skoda`s Jan Kopecky wins the Barum Czech Rally Zlin [Pic credit: IRC]
Skoda`s Jan Kopecky wins the Barum Czech Rally Zlin [Pic credit: IRC]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Joe Bloggs - Unregistered

August 29, 2011 1:12 PM

Wonderful performance - again - from Craig Breen. He really is showing tremendous potential and ability, wonderful speed on his first IRC event, third time in the S2000 car this year, think he is a class act and only 21. Wonder in MW has a seat option for him next year, said it before, I think he is World Champion material

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.