IRC: Neuville wins thriller in Sanremo

Honda's challenge unravelled when Sandro Sottile crashed on stage four and Martin Kangur retired following a spate of mechanical problems on Friday's final three stages. Harry Hunt, the defending IRC 2WD Cup champion, battled back from a tough opening day to claim ninth with Elwis Chentre 10th in a SKODA Fabia R2. Michele Tassone was the leading Abarth finisher in 16th.

The 2011 Intercontinental Rally Challenge now continues in a few weeks time with the RACMSA Rally of Scotland, which runs from 7-9 October.

Rallye Sanremo - Top ten IRC positions (after day two):

1. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul Peugeot 207 S2000 2h19m57.8s
2. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene ŠKODA Fabia S2000 +1.5s
3. Bryan Bouffier/Xavier Panseri Peugeot 207 S2000 +16.0s
4. Jan Kopeckyý/Petr Starý ŠKODA Fabia S2000 +1m09.1s
5. Bruno Magalhães/Paulo Grave Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m26.0s
6. Alessandro Perico/Fabrizio Carrara Peugeot 207 S2000 +3m47.8s
7. Umberto Scandola/Guido D'Amore M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +4m05.9s
8. Pierre Campana/Sabrina de Castelli Peugeot 207 S2000 +4m28.0s
9. Toni Gardemeister/Tapio Suominen ŠKODA Fabia S2000 +5m24.1s
10. Giandomenico Basso/Mitia Dotta PROTON Satria Neo S2000 +7m26.9s

IRC Production Cup: Florian Gonon/Sandra Arlettaz (Subaru Impreza WRX)
IRC 2WD Cup: Davide Medici/Daniele De Luis (Renault Clio S1600)

IRC Drivers' standings (after round 9 of 11) – Top 10:*

1. Jan Kopecky 128pts
2. Freddy Loix 103pts
=Thierry Neuville 103pts
4. Juho Hanninen 98pts
5. Bryan Bouffier 88pts
6. Andreas Mikkelsen 74pts
7. Guy Wilks 47pts
8. Toni Gardemeister 35pts
9. Bruno Magalhaes 26pts
10. Hans Weijs 18pts etc

* denotes best seven scores count

Manufacturers' standings (after round 9 of 11):

1. Skoda 285pts
2. Peugeot 223pts
3. M-Sport 80pts
4. Ralliart 73pts
5. Subaru 66pts
6. Proton 41pts
7. Honda 31pts
8. Abarth 15pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Thierry Neuville. Team Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Freddy Loix /Frederic Miclotte. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen /Ola Floene. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Thierry Neuville /Nicolas Gilsoul. Peugeot 207 S2000. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Podium. Rallye Sanremo 2011. [Pic credit: IRC]
Thierry Neuville. Peugeot 207 S2000. 2011 Rallye Sanremo winner. [Pic credit: IRC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.