IRC: Kopecky secures win in Gran Canaria

Hungary's Janos Puskadi, competing in a Skoda Fabia S2000 for the first time, impressed on his way to ninth overall and seventh-placed points. Skydive Dubai Rally Team's Rashid Al-Ketbi finished 10th to bag four IRC points with Honda driver Germán Hernandez and Renault's Robert Consani rounding out the IRC point scorers, the latter also securing the victory in the IRC Production Cup.

The 2012 Intercontinental Rally Challenge season now continues next month with the Donnelly Group Circuit of Ireland Raly, running from April 6-7.

Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés - Top ten IRC positions (after day two)*:

1. Jan Kopecký /Pavel Dresler Skoda Fabia S2000 2h21m46.5s
2. Andreas Mikkelsen /Ola Fløene Skoda Fabia S2000 +28.3s
3. Luis Monzón /Jose C Deniz Peugeot 207 S2000 +3m13.6s
4. Sepp Wiegand /Timo Gottschalk Skoda Fabia S2000 +4m32.0s
5. Jonathan Perez /Enrique Velasco Peugeot 207 S2000 +7m29.3s
6. Angel Marrero /Victor Marrero Honda Civic Type R +11m27.4s
7. Janós Puskádi /Barna Gódor Skoda Fabia S2000 +12m03.3s
8. Rashid Al Ketbi /Khalid Al Ketbi Skoda Fabia S2000 +14m43.2s
9. Germán Hernandez /Israel Pereira Honda Civic Type R +15m13.8s
10. Robert Consani /Nicolas Klinger Renault Mégane RS +16m13.5s

IRC Production Cup: Robert Consani /Nicolas Klinger (Renault Mégane RS)
IRC 2WD Cup: Joan Vinyes /Mercader (Suzuki Swift S1600)

* Only drivers in cars from eligible manufacturers can score overall IRC drivers' points. The IRC 2WD Cup is open to all drivers in two-wheel-drive machinery regardless of make.

IRC Drivers' standings (after round 2 of 13) – Top 10:*

1. Andreas Mikkelsen 43pts
2. Jan Kopecky 25pts
3. Sepp Wiegand 24pts
4. Juho Hänninen 18pts
5. Bryan Bouffier 15pts
= Luis Monzón 15pts
7. Hermann Gassner Jr 10pts
= Jonathan Perez 10pts
9. Angel Marrero 8pts
= Ricardo Moura 8pts

* best eight scores count

IRC manufacturers (after round 2 of 13):

1. Skoda 86pts
2. Peugeot 42pts
3. Honda 18pts
4. M-Sport 16pts
5. Subaru 12pts
6. Renault 7pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jan Kopecky. IRC Rally Islas Canarias [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen. IRC Rally Islas Canarias [Pic credit: IRC]
Luis Monzon. IRC Rally Islas Canarias [Pic credit: IRC]
Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés podium [Pic credit: IRC]
Jan Kopecky. Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés winner 2012 [Pic credit: IRC]
Jan Kopecky. Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés winner 2012 [Pic credit: IRC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.