IRC: Basso wins in San Marino

Behind, Marco Tempestini took seventh overall and third in the IRC Production Cup class but only after overcoming a fraught final day, when he was delayed by a puncture, a broken brake calliper and a brief car fire. However, Tempestini will be able to take heart from his battling performance ahead of his home round of the IRC in Romania later this month.

In the IRC 2WD Cup not even an enforced gearbox change following an oil leak on Friday's final stage could knock Harry Hunt off his stride as the Briton scored an impressive category win to move clear in the title race.

Hunt, the 2010 class champion, drove without error and preserved his car and tyres perfectly over the gravel stages, which became increasingly rough as the event drew to a close. Paolo Diana took second ahead of fellow Italian Renault Clio R3 driver Oscar Vettore. Catwees Honda Racing's young Estonian Martin Kangur started the event in the joint lead of the standings with Hunt only for his Civic Type R's powersteering to falter.

The 2012 Intercontinental Rally Challenge season now continues later this month with the Sibiu Rally Romania, running from 19-21 July.

Rally San Marino - Top ten IRC positions (after day two):

1. Giandomenico Basso /Mitia Dotta M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC 2h35m56.6s
2. Andreas Mikkelsen /Ola Floene Skoda Fabia S2000 +2.8s
3. Umberto Scandola /Guido D'Amore Skoda Fabia S2000 +1m41.6s
4. Sepp Wiegand /Timo Gottschalk Skoda Fabia S2000 +2m06.2s
5. Jarkko Nikara /Jarkko Kalliolepo Subaru Impreza R4 STI +6m12.2s
6. Gergély Szabó /Borbely Karoly Ralliart Lancer Evolution X +10m15.6s
7. Marco Tempestini /Dorin Pulpea Subaru Impreza R4 STI +13m22.6s
8. Gabriele Noberasco /Daniele Michi Ralliart Lancer Evolution IX +13m47.9s
9. Miklós Bujdos /András Benkõ Ralliart Lancer Evolution IX +14m03.0s
10. Paolo Diana /Andrea Mini Renault Clio R3 +15m56.7s

IRC Production Cup: Jarkko Nikara/Jarkko Kalliolepo (Subaru Impreza R4 STI)
IRC 2WD Cup: Harry Hunt/Robbie Durant (Citroen DS3 R3T)

IRC standings (after round 7 of 13) - Top ten*

1. Andreas Mikkelsen 107pts
2. Jan Kopecký 83pts
3. Juho Hänninen 68pts
4. Sepp Wiegand 52pts
5. Giandomencio Basso 40 pts
6. Bryan Bouffier 27pts
= Umberto Scandola 27 pts
8. Dani Sordo 25pts
9. Craig Breen 18pts
= Freddy Loix 18pts

* - best eight rounds to count

IRC manufacturers' standings (after round 7 of 13)

1. ŠKODA 282pts
2. Peugeot 154pts
3. M-Sport 84pts
4. Renault 64pts
5. Subaru 63pts
6. Honda 28pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andreas Mikkelsen. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rally San Marino. [Pic credit: IRC]
Giandomenico Basso. Ford Fiesta RRC. Rally San Marino. [Pic credit: IRC]
Umberto Scandola. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rally San Marino. [Pic credit: IRC]
Giandomenico Basso. Ford Fiesta RRC. Rally San Marino. [Pic credit: IRC]
Rally San Marino podium. [Pic credit: IRC]
Giandomenico Basso. Ford Fiesta RRC. Rally San Marino. [Pic credit: IRC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.