ERC: Kopecky wins in Austria

Former world championship star Francois Delecour was seventh in a Kronos-run Peugeot. The Frenchman had a spin on Saturday's second stage and then lost more ground with a puncture.

Czech driver Jaroslav Orsak took eighth despite a scare prior to the final stage when his Mitsubishi refused to fire after he stopped to rectify a throttle glitch. Jaromir Tarabus overcame electrical and intercom gremlins to finish ninth with Pavel Valousek completing the top 10 after Jan Cerny dropped out with a broken differential on the final stage. Rallying legend Stig Blomqvist finished 12th.

Meanwhile, promising Austrian Hannes Danzinger recovered from a penultimate stage puncture to win the ERC 2WD Championship classification in a Renault Clio R3. Hermann Neubauer had been in contention until he retired with a damaged wheel.

The ERC now continues next month with round two, Rally Liepâja-Ventspils in Latvia, running from 1-3 February.

Jannerrallye - Top ten positions (after SS18)

1. Jan Kopecky /Pavel Dresler Skoda Fabia S2000 2h35m45.3s
2. Bryan Bouffier /Olivier Fournier Peugeot 207 S2000 +0.5s
3. Raimund Baumschlager /Klaus Wicha Skoda Fabia S2000 +1m18.1s
4. Václav Pech /Peter Uhel MINI John Cooper Works S2000 +2m47.0s
5. Beppo Harrach /Leopold Welsersheimb Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX R4 +3m31.8s
6. Kajetan Kajetanowicz /Jaros³aw Baran Subaru Impreza STI R4 +3m32.9s
7. François Delecour /Dominique Savignoni Peugeot 207 S2000 +5m21.2s
8. Jaroslav Orsák /David Šmeidler Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +6m33.7s
9. Jaromír Tarabus /Daniel Trunkát Skoda Fabia S2000 +7m56.0s
10. Pavel Valoušek /Lukáš Kostka Peugeot 207 S2000 +8m11.8s

ERC Production Car Cup: Beppo Harrach /Leopold Welsersheimb (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX R4)
ERC 2WD Championship: Hannes Danzinger /Kathi Wüstenhagen (Renault Clio R3)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jan Kopecky [Pic credit: FIA ERC]
Jan Kopecky - Skoda Fabia S2000 [Pic credit: FIA ERC]
Hannes Danzinger /Kathi Wüstenhagen. Renault Clio R3. Jännerrallye [Pic credit: ERC]
Beppo Harrach /Leopold Welsersheimb. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX R4. Jännerrallye [Pic credit: ERC]
Jan Kopecky /Pavel Dresler. Skoda Fabia S2000. Jännerrallye [Pic credit: ERC]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.