ERC: Kopecky cruises to easy win in Romania

2WD points leader Zoltan Bessenyey fought back to finish sixth in class in his Eurosol-Honda Civic Type R following a time-consuming puncture and broken exhaust on stage two on Friday. His main title rival and fellow Hungarian Kornél Lukacs had already dropped out of contention with a throttle valve issue on Friday afternoon while leading the category.

Molly Taylor clinched the ERC Ladies' Trophy following a controlled display in her United Business Rally Team Citroen, Ekaterina Stratieva having already crashed into retirement on Friday's second stage.

Edwin Keleti and Dan Girtofan started day two locked in a close battle to be the top Romanian finisher in third overall but both hit trouble. Girtofan stopped on stage nine with a rear hub failure while a suspected front suspension fault ended Keleti's hopes three stages later.

Race results - top 20

1. #1 Jan Kopecky (CZE) Skoda Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000 2hrs 18mins 7.8s
2. #3 Francois Delecour (FRA) Peugeot 207 S2000 +3:12.8s
3. #4 Toshi Arai (JPN) Stohl Racing Subaru Impreza Sti R4 +6:03.6s PD
4. #5 Marco Tempestini (ITA) Skoda Fabia S2000 +7:33.1s
5. #17 David Botka (HUN) Botka Rally Team Kft Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX-R4 +7:48.3s PD
6. #14 Valentin Porcisteanu (ROU) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X-R4 +8:39.8s PD
7. #7 Jaroslav Orsak (CZE) GPD Mit Metal Racing Team Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX-R4 +9:15.6s PD
8. #11 Janos Puskadi (HUN) Eurosol Racing Team Hungary Skoda Fabia S2000 +9:59.4s
9. #6 Antonin Tlustak (CZE) GPD Mit Metal Racing Team Skoda Fabia S2000 +11:39.1s
10. #34 Sebastian Barbu (ROU) Citroen DS3 R3 +18:33.0s 2D
11. #16 Alexandru Filip (ROU) Renault Clio R3 Maxi EVO +18:35.9s 2D
12. #36 Radu Badina (ROU) Citroen C2 R2 MAX +19:12.5s 2D
13. #26 Adrian Raspopa (ROU) Citroen DS3 R3 +19:16.7s 2D
14. #32 Sorin Badea (ROU) Citroen DS3 R3 +24:06.3s 2D
15. #19 Zoltan Bessenyey (HUN) Eurosol Racing Team Hungary Honda Civic Type R +25:43.9s 2D
16. #39 Florin Tincescu (ROU) Dacia LOGAN +31:21.2s 2D
17. #33 Lukasz Kabacinski (POL) Renault Clio R3 +32:29.6s 2D
18. #30 Adrian Dragan (ROU) Napoca Rally Academy Subaru IMPREZA +34:01.2s PD
19. #27 Raul Badiu (ROU) Dacia LOGAN +34:51.9s 2D
20. #21 Molly Taylor (AUS) United Rally Management Citroen DS3 R3 +35:08.4s 2D, L

2D = Two-wheel; PD = Production Cup; L= Ladies Trophy

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
FIA ERC 2013 Sibiu Rally Vali Porcisteanu Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy. (Photo Credit: FIA European Rally Championship)
FIA ERC 2013 Sibiu Rally Sebastian Barbu day two action. (Photo Credit: FIA European Rally Championship)
FIA ERC 2013 Sibu Rally Jan Kopecky day two action. (Photo Credit: FIA European Rally Championship)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.