Kris Meeke has taken his first win of the 2017 World Rally Championship on the Rally Mexico despite almost crashing into a line of parked cars on the final stage.

The Briton led the gruelling event almost from start-to-finish and came into the final Power Stage with a 40secs lead over Sebastien Ogier, only to slide off within sight of the finish and come close to striking cars in a car park.

Despite this, Meeke gathered himself together at a loss of almost half a minute to cross the line with a 13.8secs advantage to secure the first win for the new Citroen C3 WRC.

The legacy of his indifferent start to the year, Meeke made the most of his beneficial running order position on day one to establish a comfortable lead, which he subsequently maintained over the four days.

Losing time with a spin on day three, Ogier was unable to keep with Meeke when it mattered but maintains his run of podium finishes to take the championship lead for M-Sport Ford, while Thierry Neuville got some much needed confidence back with an uneventful push to third for Hyundai, as well as points for the Power Stage win.

Ott Tanak was a solid fourth in the second M-Sport Ford Fiesta, ahead of Hayden Paddon and Rally Sweden winner Jari-Matti Latvala, who suffered for his erstwhile championship lead status by running first on the road before fighting back to sixth.

Juho Hanninen secured his first finish of the season in the second of the Toyota Yaris, ahead of Dani Sordo, who leapt up and down the leaderboard after being given a 10 minute penalty for not finishing Friday's super special stage, though this was later overturned.

Pontus Tidemand secured his second WRC2 win in a row after prevailing in a rally-long battle with Eric Camilli