Colin McRae controlled the pace to take his third Safari Rally win on an event where just a quarter of all starters made it to Nairobi; Harri Rovanpera second overall, with Thomas Radstrom third for Citroen. Karamjit Singh won GpN after late retirements for Toshi Arai and Marcos Ligato handed him 2hr+ lead of nearest rival....

Overall result - after SS12

1. Colin McRae Ford Focus RS WRC 02 7hr 58mins 28.0secs
2 Harri Rovanpera Peugeot 206 WRC +02mins 50.9secs
3. Thomas Radstrom Citroen Xsara +18mins 38.6secs
4. Markko Martin Ford Focus RS WRC 02 +21mins 28.0secs
5. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Xsara +21mins 48.1secs
6. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 206 WRC +34mins 41.0secs
7. Roman Kresta Skoda Octavia WRC Evo +54mins 38.1secs
8 Juha Kankkunen Hyundai Accent WRC +1hr 11mins 31.5secs
9. Alister McRae Mitsubishi Lancer Evo WRC +1hr 17mins 13.2secs 10. Karamjit Singh Proton Pert +2hr 29mins 27.2secs 11. Rudi Stohl Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII +5hr 14mins 05.3secs

Overall Group N - after SS12:

1. Karamjit Singh Proton Pert 10hr 27mins 55.2secs 2. Rudi Stohl Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII +2hr 44mins 38.1secs

Notable retirements:

SS12 Marcos Ligato Mitsubishi Lancer SS12 Kailesh Chauhan Subaru Forester SS11 Toshihiro Arai Subaru Impreza WRX clutch
SS9 Richard Burns Peugeot 206 WRC over time limit SS8
SS8 Carlos Sainz Ford Focus RS WRC 02 oil pressure
SS8 Kenneth Eriksson Skoda Octavia WRC Evo gearbox
SS8 Tommi Makinen Subaru Impreza WRC suspension
SS5 Frederic Dor Subaru Impreza WRC suspension
SS4 Petter Solberg Subaru Impreza WRC engine
SS4 Francois Delecour Mitsubishi Lancer Evo WRC engine
SS4 Toni Gardemeister Skoda Octavia WRC Evo lost wheel
SS2 Armin Schwarz Hyundai Accent WRC alternator
SS1 Marcus Gronholm Peugeot 206 WRC engine
SS1 Freddy Loix Hyundai Accent WRC clutch

[Italics denote Group N - Production class - entries.]