Result - Inmarsat Safari Rally.

Colin McRae controlled the pace to take his third Safari Rally win on an event where just a quarter of all starters made it to Nairobi; Harri Rovanpera second overall, with Thomas Radstrom third for Citroen. Karamjit Singh won GpN after late retirements for Toshi Arai and Marcos Ligato handed him 2hr+ lead of nearest rival....

Overall result - after SS12

1. Colin McRae Ford Focus RS WRC 02 7hr 58mins 28.0secs
2 Harri Rovanpera Peugeot 206 WRC +02mins 50.9secs
3. Thomas Radstrom Citroen Xsara +18mins 38.6secs
4. Markko Martin Ford Focus RS WRC 02 +21mins 28.0secs
5. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Xsara +21mins 48.1secs
6. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 206 WRC +34mins 41.0secs
7. Roman Kresta Skoda Octavia WRC Evo +54mins 38.1secs
8 Juha Kankkunen Hyundai Accent WRC +1hr 11mins 31.5secs
9. Alister McRae Mitsubishi Lancer Evo WRC +1hr 17mins 13.2secs
10. Karamjit Singh Proton Pert +2hr 29mins 27.2secs
11. Rudi Stohl Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII +5hr 14mins 05.3secs

Overall Group N - after SS12:

1. Karamjit Singh Proton Pert 10hr 27mins 55.2secs
2. Rudi Stohl Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII +2hr 44mins 38.1secs

Notable retirements:

SS12 Marcos Ligato Mitsubishi Lancer
SS12 Kailesh Chauhan Subaru Forester
SS11 Toshihiro Arai Subaru Impreza WRX clutch
SS9 Richard Burns Peugeot 206 WRC over time limit SS8
SS8 Carlos Sainz Ford Focus RS WRC 02 oil pressure
SS8 Kenneth Eriksson Skoda Octavia WRC Evo gearbox
SS8 Tommi Makinen Subaru Impreza WRC suspension
SS5 Frederic Dor Subaru Impreza WRC suspension
SS4 Petter Solberg Subaru Impreza WRC engine
SS4 Francois Delecour Mitsubishi Lancer Evo WRC engine
SS4 Toni Gardemeister Skoda Octavia WRC Evo lost wheel
SS2 Armin Schwarz Hyundai Accent WRC alternator
SS1 Marcus Gronholm Peugeot 206 WRC engine
SS1 Freddy Loix Hyundai Accent WRC clutch

[Italics denote Group N - Production class - entries.]

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin McRae/Nicky Grist - Ford Focus RS WRC 02
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.