Crash.Net WRC News

Result - Acropolis Rally

1 January 1901

Markko Martin takes his maiden WRC win on the Acropolis, which is also the first victory for the new 2003 Ford Focus WRC; Carlos Sainz meanwhile hangs on to second for Citroen, while Petter Solberg completes the podium. Championship leader Richard Burns finishes fourth.

Overall times after SS22 / Leg 3 - Top 20:

1. Markko Martin Ford Focus RS WRC 4hours 53mins 40.5secs
2. Carlos Sainz Citroen Xsara WRC +00mins 46.0secs
3. Petter Solberg Subaru Impreza WRC +00mins 52.7secs
4. Richard Burns Peugeot 206 WRC +02mins 06.6secs
5. Tommi Makinen Subaru Impreza WRC +02mins 12.3secs
6. Harri Rovanpera Peugeot 206 WRC +03mins 44.7secs
7. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 206 WRC +03mins 54.3secs
8. Colin McRae Citroen Xsara WRC +04mins 05.0secs
9. Didier Auriol Skoda Octavia WRC +06mins 27.2secs
10. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Focus WRC +11mins 33.4secs

11. Manfred Stohl Hyundai Accent WRC +12mins 07.3secs
12. Daniel Sola Citroen Xsara WRC +13mins 13.5secs
13. Antony Warmbold Ford Focus WRC +17mins 53.7secs
14. Ioannis Papadimitriou Ford Focus WRC +19mins 05.8secs
15. Alistair Ginley Ford Focus WRC +21mins 03.8secs
16. Simon Jean-Joseph Renault Clio 1.6 16 S +32mins 47.2secs
17. Brice Tirabassi Renault Clio +33mins 53.5secs
18. Daniel Carlsson Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +34mins 48.7secs
19. Urmo Aava Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +41mins 22.2secs
20. Theodoros Petalidis Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII +42mins 55.7secs

Overall JWRC after SS22 / Leg 3:

1. Brice Tirabassi Renault Clio 5hours 27mins 34.0secs
2. Daniel Carlsson Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +00mins 55.2secs
3. Urmo Aava Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +07mins 28.7secs
4. Salvador Canellas Suzuki Ignis Super 1600 +13mins 21.1secs
5. Oscar Svedlund Volkswagen Polo +21mins 48.1secs
6. Guy Wilks Ford Puma +35mins 34.1secs

Notable retirements:

SS1. Armin Schwarz Hyundai Accent WRC Mechanical.
SS1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Xsara WRC Engine.
SS1/2. Freddy Loix Hyundai Accent WRC Mechanical.
SS5. Francois Duval Ford Focus RS WRC Went off road.
SS5/6. Toni Gardemeister Skoda Octavia WRC No oil pressure.
SS6. Mikko Hirvonen Ford Focus RS WRC Mechanical.
SS8/9. Marcus Gronholm Peugeot 206 WRC Fuel pump.
SS9. Jussi Valimaki Hyundai Accent WRC Clutch.
SS16/17. Roman Kresta Peugeot 206 WRC Radiator.

Italics denote Junior World Rally Championship entries.