WRC » Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team

Team History


2008 World Rally Championship with Jari-Matti Latvala joining Hirvonen after Gronholm's decision to retire. Al Qassimi did 10 events in the 'third' car. Won in Sweden [with Latvala] and in Jordan, Turkey and Japan [with Hirvonen]. Switched to using 08 spec Focus in Germany. Francois Duval nominated to score manufacturers' points in Spain and France (instead of Latvala). Finished second in the manufacturers' standings with 173 points.

2007 Won the FIA WRC manufacturers' championship for the second year in succession - thanks again to Gronholm and Hirvonen. Won in Sweden, Norway, Sardinia, Greece, Finland, NZ, Japan and GB [all with Gronholm except Norway, Japan and GB]. Scored 212 points in total.

Concluded a deal with the Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority in July. Team renamed the 'BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team' from 2008. Third driver entered for 4 events in second half of 2007 season (as part of deal) - namely Khalid Al Qassimi, who competed in Finland, Germany, Spain and Ireland.

2006 Won the FIA WRC manufacturers' championship - thanks to the efforts of Marcus Gronholm and Mikko Hirvonen. Won in Monte Carlo, Sweden, Greece, Finland, Turkey, Australia, New Zealand and GB [all with Gronholm - except Australia]. Scored 195 points in total.

2005 Contested the WRC with Toni Gardemeister and Roman Kresta. Third in Manufacturers' championship. Scored 104 points. Did not win a single event in '05.

2004 Contested the WRC with Markko Martin and Francois Duval. Won in Mexico [Martin] - 1-2 finish. Also won on the Rallye de France-Tour de Corse [Martin] and Rallye Catalunya [Martin]. Second in Manufacturers' championship. Scored 143 points.

2003 Ford gambled with three youngsters, out went McRae and Sainz to Citroen, Martin stayed, joined full-time by Francois Duval and Mikko Hirvonen.
Won the Acropolis Rally and the Neste Rally Finland [both with Martin]. Scored 93 points in total - again scoring points on all 14 events. Fourth in the Constructors'.

2002 Second in Constructors' Championship [104 points] - won three rallies, and scored points on all 14 rounds of the World Rally Championship, fielded three cars full-time for Colin McRae, Carlos Sainz and Markko Martin.

2001 Second in Constructors' Championship - three wins (again) in Argentina, Cyprus and Greece.

2000 Second in Constructors' Championship - three wins in Spain, Greece and Cyprus.

1999 Fourth in the Constructors - two wins for the new Ford Focus WRC, both courtesy of Colin McRae.

1998 Fourth in the Constructors' championship - competed with the Escort, with Juha Kankkunen and Bruno Thiry.

1997 Malcolm Wilson takes over Ford's rally programme with the new Escort World Rally Car. Carlos Sainz takes two wins in Greece and Indonesia. Team finishes second in the Constructors.

1994-96 Third in Manufacturers' Championship in '94, '95 and '96.

1993 Second in the Manufacturers' Championship.

1992 Third in the Manufacturers' Championship.

1991 Fourth in the Manufacturers' Championship.

1990 Eighth in the Manufacturers' Championship.

1989 13th in the Manufacturers'.

1988 Secon in the Manufacturers'

1986-87 Fifth in the Manufacturers in '86 and '87.

1985 11th in the Manufacturers'.

1984 12th in the Manufacturers'

1982 Fourth in the Manufacturers'.

1980-81 Third in the Manufacturers' Championship in both years. Won the Drivers' Championship with Ari Vatanen in 1981.

1979 Won the Manufacturers' Championship and the Drivers with Bjorn Waldegaard.

1976-1978 Third in the Manufacturers' Championship, three years on the trot.

1975 Sixth in Manufacturers' Championship.

1974 Third in Manufacturers' Championship.

1973 Third in Manufacturers' Championship.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.