WSBK » WSBK Monza: Sykes reinstated to third position


Tom Sykes regains his third place finish in the second World Superbike race at Monza after the FIM reverses the stewards' original decision.

Sort Comments: Oldest | Newest

brendan - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 7:35 AM

well this is embarrassing.

He didnt make the corner. If he gravel had been there he would of been behind SG, he was only ahead cos he didnt slow down enough.

Remember silverstone when he was reinstated despite crashing many laps before the end? It nearly won him the title. If he wins this title by 3 points it turns the whole thing into a joke

TC - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 7:54 AM

If he had not cut the corner to avoid a collision and then knocked Melandri off would that have been a better outcome ?

And if there was gravel in the run of, he had hit it and come off and his bike then flew into the path off following riders causing a pile up would that make all the armchair crittics happy.

I don't understand the logic of the posters here, when Marquez does a desperate dive across the track with no chance of staying on line and collides with another rider that is wonderful riding yet Sykes makes a mistake and does his best to avoid a subsequent accident then that is bad!

Pedroner - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 8:34 AM

The joke here is not what Sykes did or did not do. The joke is that an appeal and counter appeal can overturn the result twice. Will there be another appeal? How long can the keep appealing for? When is the result final?!

There should be some process where there can be only one appeal, both sides are listened to, and then a final decision is made

Jon

May 13, 2013 9:21 AM

My understanding is that the 'escape road' is just that, an escape road if it all goes wrong.
Which it did.

However, it's not meant to be an alternative route if the rider fails to make the corner- like others have said, if it wasn't there you can bet your bottom dollar riders wouldn't be taking the same chances.

Using the escape route MUST have a mediocre time penalty to discourage riders out braking themselves and using it.
Sykes was a fraction in front of Guinters when he ran off and rejoined in exactly the same place. Surely that's not on? A rider shouldn't be able to rejoin without losing at least a second relative to their previous position... ..or yielding a place when in a dog fight.

Ivor Bueb - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 9:39 AM

I don't know for sure who should get the podium- but the organisers should know the rules, it shouldn't be decided by appeal.

My guess is that by the rules Sykes should get the podium.. not fair really but he left the track ahead of Guintolli and regained it ahead of him too.

Darkwaknight

May 13, 2013 9:49 AM

Joke, Sykes was out of order in Park Ferme telling Guinters that it was basicly Marco's fault for braking earlier. The fact is that had that been a normal gravel corner Sykes would have braked considerably earlier knowing he had no margin for error.HE made the mistake and then used the corner to gain an advantage over Sylvan and more importantly came out and blocked him off on the fastest corner on the track. Plain and simple Sykes made a mistake and should have paid the price for it. Bad show by him and his team complaining and poor from the SBK stewards for conceading. I think he should be docked the position otherwise everyone can "make Mistakes" in corners like this and keep position. I would outbreak some one wildly into this corner then run on and come out the other side in front. A joke and shame on Sykes and Kawasaki (and I ride one) not good and I feel sorry for Sylvan!

Sweeble - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 9:51 AM

I'm a big fan of Tom's but here I think he is in the wrong. He rejoined in the same position, but at the expense of hampering Sylvain quite severely and causing him to lose momentum for a potential 2nd place. He could have even caused an accident. He and Kawa should do the gentlemanly thing and hand the place back

how - Unregistered

May 13, 2013 10:08 AM

@mrreferee
if you take a look at the official results I am sure you will find Fab was penalised 20secs for that error.

Race 1 (M. Fabricio 6 place, gap 8.407 sec.)

Race 2 (M. Fabricio 5 place, gap 9.965 sec.)

So, how Fabricio is penalize 20 sec?

Page 2 of 9
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  »

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.