WSS: Lascorz takes Kawasaki to pole

Joan Lascorz has delivered Kawasaki a rare pole position ahead of the seventh World Supersport round of the season at Miller Motorsports Park.

Although the Spaniard has threatened to do so throughout the season thus far, Lascorz's effort makes him only the third different rider to score a pole position this season, ending a run of five for championship leader Cal Crutchlow.

Lascorz was in charge from the start, commanding a gap of around half a second for the majority of the session until title chaser Eugene Laverty brought the gap down to a more reasonable tenth in the latter stages.

Almost as unusual as a Kawasaki on pole position, there are four different manufacturers represented on the front row, with Laverty getting Honda up to second, Crutchlow placing his Yamaha third and Gianluca Nannelli going an excellent fourth for Triumph.

A big improvement for the BE1 Racing team, Garry McCoy in seventh is further testament to the improvements being made with the Triumph 675.

Massimo Roccoli was an impressive fifth on the Intermoto Czech Honda, ahead of factory rider Kenan Sofuoglu, the Turk a disappointing sixth. It was a bad day all round for the Ten Kate Honda team after Andrew Pitt crashed heavily in the early stages and failed to set a time.

Usual front runners Fabien Foret, Mark Aitchison and Katsuaki Fujiwara completed the top ten positions.

Meanwhile, further down the field, Melissa Paris continued to make progress on her World Supersport debut, moving up to 27th position to be well inside the necessary qualification time. Fellow female rider Marie Josee Boucher, however, did not qualify.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lascorz, USA WSS 2009
Lascorz, USA WSS 2009
Dosoli and Mahias, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Mahias, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Mahias, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Jacobsen, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Gino Rea, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Kyle Ryde, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Hill, WSS Race, Misano 2017
Caricasulo, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Jacobsen, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Caricasulo, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Kyle Smith, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Kyle Smith, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Gino Rea, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Jacobsen, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Kyle ryde, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017
Sofuoglu leads the start, WSS Race, Misano WSBK 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.