Aprilia still to make 2010 decision

Leon Camier, Shane Byrne, Alex de Angelis and Shinya Nakano are among the riders in line for a spot on the factory Aprilia in 2010.
Aprilia is the only remaining factory World Superbike Championship team to confirm its 2010 rider line-up following the confirmation that Tom Sykes will join Kawasaki.

Of the anticipated 14 factory-backed riders, twelve seats have now been officially filled, with Kawasaki revealing it has signed Yamaha refugee Sykes and BMW retaining its line-up of Troy Corser and Ruben Xaus.

While Aprilia are yet to announce its riders for 2010, Max Biaggi, who scored victory on the RSV-4 at Brno and is fourth in the standings heading to the Portimao season finale, is almost certain to remain.

Speculation over who will join him, however, has been rife, with a number of names being mentioned in connection with the team.

Currently, Shinya Nakano holds the seat, but the former MotoGP rider has struggled to match Biaggi consistently following an injury interrupted season. As such, his position in the team is thought to be under threat, most notably from Leon Camier, who rides the RSV-4 for the second time at Portimao.

However, Camier's presence in the team has been attributed to a possible satellite effort in 2010, potentially run by the JiR team that currently prepares the manufacturer's Superstock effort. Although Camier has been coy about the claims, rumours suggest Shane Byrne is in line to join him, reviving a partnership they shared during the 2008 British Superbike season.

Alex de Angelis has also been tipped to join Aprilia, but the Sammarinese rider has publicly said that he is looking to snare a ride with the Scot Honda MotoGP team before pursuing anything in World Superbikes.

More is likely to become clear should Aprilia take to the track for post-season testing at Portimao following the final round of the.

2010 World Superbike Championship grid – confirmed factory signings:

1. Noriyuki Haga JPN Ducati Xerox
2. Michel Fabrizio ITA Ducati Xerox
3. James Toseland GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Sterilgarda *
5. Jonathan Rea GBR Ten Kate Honda
6. Max Neukirchner GER Ten Kate Honda
7. Leon Haslam GBR Suzuki Alstare
8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Alstare *
9. Chris Vermeulen AUS Kawasaki SRT
10. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki SRT
11. Troy Corser AUS BMW Motorrad
12. Ruben Xaus ESP BMW Motorrad
13. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing
14. TBA Aprilia Racing

* World Superbike rookie

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Biaggi, Imola WSBK Race 2 2009
Camier and Hayden, WSBK race2,Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, WSBK race2,Thai WSBK 2017
Camier and Davies, WSBK race2,Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, John Surtes, Thai WSBK 2017
Kawasaki fans, WSBK Race1, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, WSBK Race1, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, Thai WSBK 2017
Camier, Thai WSBK 2017
Brembo calipers on Ducati, Thai WSBK 2017
Akrapovic on Yamaha, Thai WSBK 2017
Akrapovic on Aprilia, Thai WSBK 2017
Team Milwaukee Aprilia, Thai WSBK 2017
Akrapovic on Milwaukee Aprilia, Thai WSBK 2017
Ohlins rear shock on Aprilia, Thai WSBK 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.